Mini Collection : Celebrating the U. S. Constitution
A collaborative work by the Cleveland and Amherst Campus Libraries
The WNY Virtual Libraries site includes resources for the Amherst, Buffalo, and Southtowns campuses of Bryant & Stratton College. We support our students, faculty, and staff by offering a number of online services including reference, bibliographic instruction, and by providing a variety of electronic resources which supplement the degree programs of the college.
Our library collections include over 47 electronic databases which provide access to millions of full-text journals, newspapers, eBooks, and specialized industry and professional reports. All databases are available both on and off campus via single sign-in.
The WNY Libraries collaborates with campus Skills Assistance and Learning Resource Centers which specialize in providing tutoring and testing services to students of the college.
I welcome you to our libraries and hope you will enjoy working in our collaboratively supportive educational environment.
Buffalo Business First:
Business Journal access for Bryant & Stratton College — Students, faculty and staff have full access to the Buffalo Business First to include all Digital content across 18 different Industries, access to the Weekly Edition, Book of Lists, the Search Archives and much more!
Gain access now and Create Your Free Account:
https://www.bizjournals.com/register/buffalo?r=%2Fbuffalo%2F
Link to Buffalo Business First after you Create Your Free Account:
https://www.bizjournals.com/buffalo/
Computer Use:
Food and Drink:
Noise:
Cell Phones:
Inappropriate and unacceptable behavior:
Bob Miller's Basic Math and Pre-Algebra for the Clueless, 2nd Ed by
STUDENT TESTED AND APPROVED! If you suffer from math anxiety, then sign up for private tutoring with Bob Miller! Do mathematics and algebraic formulas leave your head spinning? If so, you are like hundreds of thousands of other students who face math-especially, algebra-with fear. Luckily, there is a cure: Bob Miller's Clueless series! Like the teacher you always wished you had (but never thought existed), Bob Miller brings knowledge, empathy, and fun to math and pre-algebra. He breaks down the learning process in an easy, non-technical way and builds it up again using his own unique methods. Meant to bridge the gulf between the student, the textbook, and the teacher, Basic Math and Pre-Algebra for the Clueless is packed with all the latest information you need to conquer basic math and pre-algebra, including: Anxiety-reducing features on every page Quick tips for solving difficult problems Full explanations of basic principles to make hard problems easy Bite-sized math portions that short study sessions (and attention spans) "I am always delighted when a student tells me that he or she hated math ... but taking a class with me has made math understandable ... even enjoyable." Now it's your turn. Sharpen your #2 pencils, and let Bob Miller show you how to never be clueless again!
Challenges to Integrating Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Programs in Organizations by
Throughout the past several years, diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives have been a part of a growing phenomenon to address the diverse needs of organizations. However, the act of diversity training and implementation in programs has traditionally been reactive as a result of a scandal rather than proactive. As more industries see the benefits of diversity, equity, and inclusion training, we will continue to see the benefits of a sustainable, healthy working environment for all. Challenges to Integrating Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Programs in Organizations is an essential reference source that shares the challenges and opportunities faced by diversity, equity, and inclusion officers who are leading their organizations to becoming more diverse, equitable, and inclusive working environments. Featuring research on topics such as institutional equity, organizational culture, and diverse workplace, this book is ideally designed for administrators, human resource specialists, researchers, business professionals, academicians, and students, as well as organizations looking to make the intentional shifts necessary to develop and foster a more inclusive working and learning environment.
Communicating COVID-19 : Everyday Life, Digital Capitalism, and Conspiracy Theories in Pandemic Times by
The COVID-19 pandemic crisis has changed the way we live and communicate. The phases of lockdown brought about by the pandemic fundamentally changed the way we work, lead our everyday lives, and how we communicate, resulting in Internet platforms becoming more important than ever before. Communicating COVID-19explores the impact of these changes on society and the way we communicate, and the effect this has had on the spread of misinformation. Critical communication and Internet scholar Christian Fuchs analyses the changes of everyday communication in the COVID-19 crisis and how misinformation has spread online throughout the pandemic. He explores the foundations and rapid spread of conspiracy theories and anti-vaccination discourse on the Internet, paying particular attention to the vast amount of COVID-19 conspiracy theories about Bill Gates. He also interrogates Internet users' reactions to these COVID-19 conspiracy theories as well as how Donald Trump communicated about COVID-19 on Twitter during the final year of his Presidency. Communicating COVID-19is an essential work for anyone seeking to understand the role of digital technologies, changes in communication and the Internet, and the spread of conspiracy theories in the context of COVID-19.
The Concise APA Handbook: APA 7th Edition by
"Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand."--
Creating a Career Portfolio by
Need a better way to demonstrate your skills to a prospective employer or client? Try creating a career portfolio. This issue of TD at Work offers practical advice to help learning and development professionals show off their best work. "Creating a Career Portfolio" discusses why portfolios are becoming more essential for career development and explains how to build one that will give you an advantage on the job market. In this issue of TD at Work, you will learn: how to select and organize items for a portfolio what kinds of work samples to include what tools are available for building a digital portfolio how to share your portfolio how portfolios can contribute to career success.
Elementary Psychology by
CONTENT : The Definition, Scope and Methods of Psychology -- Psychology and other Sciences -- The Nervous System -- Consciousness -- Analysis of Mental Processes -- Attention -- Sensation -- Perception -- Memory -- Imagination -- Thinking -- Feeling -- Emotion -- Non-Voluntary Actions -- Voluntary Action -- Learning -- Fatigue -- Habit -- The Self -- Development of the Individual -- Intelligence -- Personality -- The Abnormal Mind.
Fact Over Fake : A Critical Thinker's Guide to Media Bias and Political Propaganda by
Today's instantaneous and ever-present news stream frequently presents a sensationalized or otherwise distorted view of the world, demanding constant critical engagement on the part of everyday citizens. The Critical Thinker's Guide to Bias, Lies, and Politics in the News reveals the power of critical thinking to make sense of overwhelming and often subjective media by detecting ideology, slant, and spin at work. Building off the Richard Paul and Linda Elder framework for critical thinking, Elder focuses on the internal logic of the news as well as societal influences on the media while illustrating essential elements of trustworthy journalism. With up-to-date discussions of social media, digital journalism, and political maneuvering inside and outside the fourth estate, Fact or Fake is an essential handbook for those who want to stay informed but not influenced by our modern news reporting systems.
A Guide to Business Mathematics by
The success of business today is dependent on the knowledge and expertise of its employees. The need for mathematics arises naturally in business such as in the work of the actuary in an insurance company, the financial mathematics required in the day-to-day work of the banker and the need to analyse data to extract useful information to enable the business to make the right decisions to be successful. A Guide to Business Mathematics provides a valuable self-study guide to business practitioners, business students and the general reader to enable them to gain an appropriate insight into the mathematics used in business. This book offers an accessible introduction to essential mathematics for the business field. A wide selection of topics is discussed with the mathematical material presented in a reader-friendly way. The business context motivates the presentation. The author uses modelling and applications to motivate the material, demonstrating how mathematics is used in the financial sector. In addition to the role of the actuary and the banker, the book covers operations research including game theory, trade discounts and the fundamentals of statistics and probability. The book is also a guide to using metrics to manage and measure performance, and business economics. Foundations on algebra, number theory, sequences and series, matrix theory and calculus are included as is a complete chapter on using software. Features - Discusses simple interest and its application to promissory notes/treasury bills. - Discusses compound interest with applications to present and future values. - Introduces the banking field including loans, annuities and the spot/forward FX market. - Discusses trade discounts and markups/markdowns. - Introduces the insurance field and the role of the actuary. - Introduces the fields of data analytics and operations research. - Discusses business metrics and problem solving. - Introduces matrices and their applications. - Discusses calculus and its applications. - Discusses basic financial statements such as balance sheet, profit and loss and cash account. - Reviews a selection of software to support business mathematics. This broad-ranging text gives the reader a flavour of the applications of mathematics to the business field and stimulates further study in the subject. As such, it will be of great benefit to business students, while also capturing the interest of the more casual reader. About the Author Dr. Gerard O'Regan　is an Assistant Professor in Mathematics at the University of Central Asia in Kyrgyzstan. His research interests include software quality and software process　improvement, mathematical approaches to software quality, and the　history of computing. He is the author of several books in the Mathematics and Computing fields.
Introduction to Sociology by
Comprehensive and engaging, this textbook introduces students not only to foundational sociological work, but also to insights from contemporary sociological theory and research. This combined approach ensures that students become familiar with the core of sociology: key concepts, theories, perspectives, methods, and findings. Students will acquire the ability to think like a sociologist, investigateand understandcomplex social phenomena. This text presents a complete sociological toolkit, guiding students in the art of asking good sociological questions, devising a sophisticated theoryand developing methodologies to observesocial phenomena. The chapters of this book build cumulatively to equip students with the tools to quickly understand anynew sociological topic or contemporary social problem. The textbook also appliesthe sociological toolkit to selected key sociological issues, showing how specific sociological topics can be easily investigated and understood using this approach. Taking a global and comparative perspective, the book covers a rich diversity of sociological topics and social problems, such as crime, immigration, race and ethnicity, media, education, family, organizations, gender, poverty, modernization and religion. The book presents a range of helpful pedagogical features throughout, such as: Chapter overviewandlearning goalssummaries at the start of every chapter; Thinking like a sociologistboxes, encouraging students to reflect critically on learning points; Principle boxes, summarizing key sociological principles; Theory schema boxes, presenting sociological theories in a clear, understandable manner; Stylized facts highlighting key empirical findings and patterns; Key conceptsand summary sections at the end of every chapter; and Companion websiteproviding additional material for every chapter for both instructors and students, including PowerPoint lecture notes, discussion questions and answers, multiple-choice questions, further reading and a full glossary of terms. This clear and accessible text is essential reading for students taking introductory courses in sociology. It will also be useful for undergraduate and graduate courses in other social science disciplines, such as psychology, economics, human geography, demography, communication studies, education sciences, political science and criminology.
Microsoft 365 Portable Genius by
Power up your proficiency with this genius guide to popular Microsoft 365 apps Do you want to make your Microsoft 365 account a productivity behemoth? Do you want to squeeze every last bit of awesome from Word, Excel, and PowerPoint and learn a little more about Outlook, too? Microsoft 365 Portable Genius has got you covered. A seasoned tech expert and trainer, author Lisa A. Bucki shows you how to build Word documents, Excel workbooks, and PowerPoint presentations the right way, as well as how to use high-impact design techniques to make your documents pop. This book answers 11 key questions about how to make the most of Microsoft 365, providing genius tips as it leads you through the essentials. You'll learn how to: Tackle common skills like creating files, adding basic content, navigating in a file, making selections, copying and moving content, and saving files Build a new Word document by using outlining, bullets and numbering, columns, and other features for creating and enhancing content Enhance Excel workbook files by organizing data on different sheets, filling entries, creating range names, and entering powerful, accurate formulas Develop a PowerPoint presentation by choosing the right layout for each slide and adding content to placeholders, and then transform it into an on-screen show with transitions and animations Add punchy design and branding by using text formatting, themes, and graphics in your files Use lists, tables, and charts to make data easier to interpret Create, send, reply to, and organize email in Outlook, as well as add contacts Share file contents on paper or digitally Check out the Online Bonus Appendix at Wiley for more genius coverage of topics including additional Excel formula review techniques, essential Excel functions, theme colors and fonts changes, and WordArt Whether you have used Office in the past or are new to its subscription successor Microsoft 365, Microsoft 365 Portable Genius provides the expert guidance you need to work smarter in Microsoft 365.
Soft Skills for Workplace Success by
From the ninjas of corporate world comes a curated recipe book on how to be happy and content in our professional lives. Soft skills for Workplace helps us in dodging the derailers such as ego and stress that can negatively impact our behaviour, and replacing them instead with humour and emotional intelligence as tools to find joy at the workplace.
Teach Yourself How to Learn : Strategies You Can Use to Ace Any Course at Any Level by
Following up on her acclaimed Teach Students How to Learn, that describes teaching strategies to facilitate dramatic improvements in student learning and success, Saundra McGuire here presents these "secrets" direct to students. Her message is that "Any student can use simple, straightforward strategies to start making A's in their courses and enjoy a lifetime of deep, effective learning." Beginning with explaining how expectations about learning, and the study efforts required, differ between college and secondary school, the author introduces her readers, through the concept of metacognition, to the importance and powerful consequences of understanding themselves as learners. This framework and the recommended strategies that support it are useful for anyone moving on to a more advanced stage of education, so this book also has an intended audience of students preparing to go to high school, graduate school, or professional school. In a conversational tone, and liberally illustrated by anecdotes of past students, the author combines introducing readers to concepts like Bloom's Taxonomy (to illuminate the difference between studying and learning), fixed and growth mindsets, as well as to what brain science has to tell us about rest, nutrition and exercise, together with such highly specific learning strategies as how to read a textbook, manage their time and take tests. With engaging exercises and thought-provoking reflections, this book is an ideal motivational and practical text for study skills and first year experience courses.
U Thrive : How to Succeed in College (and Life) by
From the professors who teach NYU's most popular elective class, "Science of Happiness," a fun, comprehensive guide to surviving and thriving in college and beyond. Every year, almost 4,000,000 students begin their freshman year at colleges and universities nationwide. Most of them will sleep less and stress out a whole lot more. By the end of the year, 30% of those freshmen will have dropped out. For many, the unforeseen demands of college life are so overwhelming that "the best four years of your life" can start to feel like the worst. Enter Daniel Lerner and Dr. Alan Schlechter, ready to teach students how to not only survive college, but flourish in it. Filled with fascinating science, real-life stories, and tips for building positive lifelong habits, U Thrive addresses the opportunities and challenges every undergrad will face -- from finding a passion to dealing with nightmarish roommates and surviving finals week. Engaging and hilarious, U Thrive will help students grow into the happy, successful alums they all deserve to be.
Writing at Work by
Writing at Work covers everything professionals need to know about writing on the job today. The workshop is only 3.5 hours long. HR and L&D managers can use this new course to train experienced employees who already know the basics of business writing but could use a refresher.
Your Guide to College Writing by
Your Guide to College Writing is a practical handbook for academic writers. This book teaches you the rules for college research and writing and shows you how to follow them in real-world examples. By starting with the basics of paragraphs, sentences, punctuation, word choice, research, and guides to MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, you'll become comfortable with the building blocks of writing in college. When you have trouble with a specific error or tricky problem, you'll find easy-to-follow instructions for crafting solutions that you can use throughout your career as a formal writer. Formal academic writing can be complex. This handbook is written in clear and accessible language and is designed to be a reference guide to help you quickly find the right topic. Each topic is explained and illustrated by several examples that show how it works and how to use it, complete with samples and annotations. Your Guide to College Writing has you covered on topics that include: Organizing paragraphs effectively Writing appropriate openings and conclusions Completing sentence fragments Fixing run-on sentences Using commas correctly Identifying reliable sources Working with sources responsibly Citing sources accurately in MLA, APA, and Chicago style Formatting your paper in MLA, APA, and Chicago style
eBook Collections
Newspapers
