library: Principles of Psychology (PSYC101): Workplace Stress

Research Collections

Databases
Subject Terms

Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center Plus provides staff nurses and nurse educators with a resource that supports education goals, encourages nursing students to access the original research and provides options for patient care while preserving and supporting the essential learning opportunities that educators want to provide.

Subject term searches are often the most effective and efficient when searching library research databases. The following subject terms are taken from the Health Source - Consumer Edition database. They have been selected as being most relevant to your project. The scope note has been included when available

BURNOUT (Psychology) = Here are entered works on emotional, psychological and physical exhaustion resulting from overwork or other intense activity, dissipation, or prolonged stress and frustration.

JOB stress = Here are entered works on the harmful physical and emotional response to the performance of one's job.

RELAXATION techniques

PSYCHOPHYSIOLOGY =Here are entered works on the relationship between psychological and physiological processes.

STRESS (Psychology) =
Here are entered works on emotional tension caused by uncomfortable circumstances. Works on the emphasis placed on words or syllables in spoken language are entered under "Accents & accentuation." Use only if a narrower term does not apply (e.g., "Anxiety," "Burnout (Psychology)," or "Job stress").

STRESS management = Here are entered works on physical or mental activities undertaken to control or mitigate the debilitating effects of emotional stress.

Bibliography

Stress and the Human Body
Stress Management for Working Professionals

Borel, B., & Peek, K. (2015). The science of stress. Popular Science, 286(3), 38-47. CLICK HERE TO VIEW

Emerson, E. (2015). Why stress doesn’t just stay in your head. Science News, 187(5), 2. CLICK HERE TO VIEW

Is stress making your allergy symptoms worse? (2018). Harvard Health Letter, 43(5), 67. CLICK HERE TO VIEW

Kornusky, J. M., & Schiebel, D. F. (2017). Stress, women, and diet. CINAHL Nursing Guide. CLICK HERE TO VIEW

Seppa, N. (2015). The mess that is stress. Science News, 187(5), 18-23.CLICK HERE TO VIEW

Rockwood, K. (2015). 7 subtle signs you're burned-out. Health, 29(10), 73-76.CLICK HERE TO VIEW

Uncovering the link between emotional stress and heart disease. (2017). Harvard Heart Letter, 27(8), 1-7. CLICK HERE TO VIEW

Crouch, M. (2017). Secrets of people with highly stressful jobs. Prevention, 69(2), 64-73 CLICK HERE TO VIEW

Everett, J. (2016). Your body on the clock. Health, 30(1), 73-76. CLICK HERE TO VIEW

Hilton, L. (2016). Exhaustion jumps, satisfaction slumps. Urology Times, 44(1), 1-21. CLICK HERE TO VIEW

McCoy, K. (2016). Alcohol and stress: There are safer ways to cope. Health Library: Evidence-Based Information CLICK HERE TO VIEW

Redmon, G. L. (2015). Sometimes you Just have to unplug. American Fitness, 33(5), 26-31. CLICK HERE TO VIEW

Staying calm in turbulent times. (2017). Harvard Women's Health Watch, 24(8), 4-5. CLICK HERE TO VIEW