An acronym is a word (as NATO, radar, or laser) formed from the initial letter or letters of each of the successive parts or major parts of a compound term. An abbreviation is a shortened form of a written word or phrase used in place of the whole (i.e.amt is an abbreviation for amount).
An almanac is an annual publication containing astronomical and meteorological data, statistical, tabular, and miscellaneous information.
Bibliographies are lists of books, magazines, articles, etc., about a particular subject, or mentioned within the text.
Biographies are stories of real people’s lives written by someone other than that person. Biographies are also written on different subjects (i.e. animal, building).
General
Subject Specific
Currency is the money that a country uses specifically; or something that is used as money (i.e. United States uses bills, pennies, quarters, dimes, nickels). Calculators are electronic devices for performing mathematical calculations. Units of Measure are the standard unit or system of units by means of which a quantity is accounted for and expressed (i.e. a unit of time is a second).
Dictionaries are reference books (or digital resource) that contains words listed in alphabetical order and that gives information about the words' meanings, forms, pronunciation. Thesauri are books (digital resource) containing words that have the same or similar meanings are grouped together (i.e. girl, woman, lady). Translations are the acts or processes of changing something from one form to another (i.e. translating words from one language to another).
General
Subject Specific
Directory is an alphabetical or classified list (as of names and addresses) or books or websites regarding the collection of directions, rules, or ordinances. Phone book is a listing of telephone subscribers in a geographical area or subscribers to services provided by the organization that publishes the directory.
Encyclopedias are reference works (such as books, series of books, websites, or CD-ROMs) that contain information about many different subjects or a lot of information about a particular subject. Encyclopedia is a great source to look for a topic’s background information.
General
Subject Specific
Etymologies are explanations of where a word came from or the history of a word.
GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS REFERENCE
GOVERNMENT INFORMATION ON THE WEB
Handbooks are concise reference books (or digital resources) covering particular subjects. Manuals are small books (or digital resources) that provide useful information about something (i.e. computers, treadmills etc).
Holidays are special days of celebration or days when most people do not have to work. Dates are the times at which events occur. Clocks are machines or electronic devices that measures and records time.
Maps are geographic representations, drawn to scale and usually on a flat surface, of features; usually geographic, geologic, or geopolitical, of an area. Gazetteers are geographical dictionaries or books in which subjects are treated especially in regard to geographic distribution and regional specialization. Countries are areas of land that are controlled by their own governments. States are organized communities living under one government.
Quotation is something a person says or writes that is repeated or used by someone else in another piece of writing or a speech.
Statistical sources provide information dealing with the collection, analysis, interpretation, and presentation of masses of numerical data.
Zip codes (postal codes) are a group of numbers that are used in the U.S. as part of an address to identify a mail delivery area (such as a town or a part of a city).
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
