library: Mini Collection : Juneteenth [June 19th]: Home

JUNETEENTH : Featured eBooks

Juneteenth : The Story Behind the Celebration by Edward T. Cotham; Edward T. Cotham
ISBN: 9781649670007
Publication Date: First edition. Kerrville, TX : State House Press. 2021
Juneteenth has been touted as a national day celebrating the end of slavery. Observances from coast to coast have turned this event into part of the national conversation about race, slavery, and how Americans understand, acknowledge, and explain what has been called the national "original sin." But, why Juneteenth? Where did this celebration--which promises to become a national holiday--come from? What is the origin story? What are the facts, and legends, around this important day in the nation's history? This is the first scholarly book to delve into the history behind Juneteenth. Using decades of research in archives around the nation, this book helps separate myth from reality and tells the story behind the celebration in a way that provides new understanding and appreciation for the event. This book will captivate people interested in the history of emancipation and African American history but also those interested in Civil War and Texas history. As the United States continues to wrestle with race relations and the meaning of full equality, Juneteenth promises to become an important expression of that equality--an Independence Day celebration in its own right, a couple of weeks in advance of the traditional July 4th Holiday. This book will be a welcome addition to classrooms, book clubs and general readers interested in this once obscure regional event now destined for the national spotlight.
Hidden Black History : From Juneteenth to Redlining by Amanda Jackson Green
ISBN: 9781728429588
Publication Date: 2021-01-01
Many important moments in history have not been taught in schools or explored in the mainstream media. These events often include people of color and involve Black history. This "whitewashing" of history, intentional or not, puts all Americans at a disadvantage. Learn about Black history moments that shaped America, from the arrival of the first enslaved Africans in Virginia in 1619 to the Freedom Summer of 1964, and read about efforts to reshape how we teach Black history in schools in the 21st century.

Selected Peer Reviewed Articles

"How long was it for you?": Juneteenth, July 4th, and the Time Between in Octavia E. Butler's Kindred | Teaching American Literature,Spring 2023
By fostering sustained reflections on the relationship between Black and white Americans, between slavery and freedom, and between past and present, Octavia E. Butler’s Kindred(1979) can empower students to move beyond the oppositional rhetoric that currently defines American culture and politics. Two dates—June 19 and July 4—play a key role in Butler’s novel, which relies on time travel to explore the lingering influence of slavery on American life. Like the years 1619 and 1776, these two dates are often pitted against each other for political purposes, yet Kindredcan be used to frame them not in opposition but in dialogue, as intimately related facets of the still-unfolding American experiment.
Galveston on San Francisco Bay: Juneteenth in the Fillmore District, 1945–2016. | Western Historical Quarterly,Summer2019
This article explores the history of Juneteenth—the commemoration of the emancipation of enslaved people in Texas—in San Francisco, California. In 1945, Wesley Johnson, a Texan migrant, introduced Juneteenth to San Francisco's Black community. The celebration sustained itself over seventy years, making it the longest continuous urban celebration of Juneteenth. Juneteenth remained relevant in San Francisco because it became intertwined with the history of African Americans in the Western Addition neighborhood. Most significantly, the holiday was a key expression of resilience as the city demolished the neighborhood in the 1960s, expelling much of the Black community. Surprisingly, later in the 1980s, the holiday became a key point of contact between the city and the Black community. This unlikely holiday continues in San Francisco to the present day. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
Juneteenth, Black Texans and the Case for Reparations. | Negro Educational Review,Apr-Jul2004
Provides information pertaining to the Juneteenth, a day to commemorate the official ending of American slavery. History; Events leading up to the proclamation; Black reparations in the late 1960s; Reasons for delayed freedom; Reasons why some oppose reparations; Explanation why descendants of the enslaved are entitled to reparations.
Juneteenth and the Freedom Writers. | Hoover Digest: Research & Opinion on Public Policy,Fall2022
Juneteenth bequeaths a legacy of freedom, for all Americans and especially for African-Americans. The nineteenth of June marks the date in 1865 when Union troops reached Galveston, Texas, to proclaim slavery definitively ended. The holiday provides an opportunity to reflect on the long tradition of liberty that pervades American culture. For all the experience of inequality, unfairness, and racism that has coursed through the nation's history, so too has the aspiration for freedom. While we should not forget the bad of the past, it is vital to celebrate the good, the accomplishments of freedom, and the sacrifices they demanded. Remembering that legacy is never more appropriate than on Juneteenth "in the land of the free and the home of the brave."
Public Memory, Cultural Legacy, and Press Coverage of the Juneteenth Revival. | Journalism History,Fall 2008
Following the Civil War, African Americans in Texas celebrated their emancipation with an annual holiday known as "Juneteenth." The celebration migrated to other areas of the country, and over the past several years there has been a concerted effort to establish it as a national holiday. Using the recent revival and diffusion of Juneteenth as its focal point, this article examines local press coverage of the celebration in four states. The coverage illustrates how journalists invoke history to explain current events and also highlights the changing, fluid nature of public memory. In contrast to the view of history as a fixed, stable account of past events, the evidence reveals that the historical record is continually changing based upon contemporary concerns, political motivations, and, in this particular case, the ongoing integration of African Americans into American society. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]

Overview

Juneteenth (short for “June Nineteenth”) marks the day when federal troops arrived in Galveston, Texas in 1865 to take control of the state and ensure that all enslaved people be freed. The troops’ arrival came a full two and a half years after the signing of the Emancipation Proclamation. Juneteenth honors the end to slavery in the United States and is considered the longest-running African American holiday. On June 17, 2021, it officially became a federal holiday.

Confederate General Robert E. Lee had surrendered at Appomattox Court House two months earlier in Virginia, but slavery had remained relatively unaffected in Texas—until U.S. General Gordon Granger stood on Texas soil and read General Orders No. 3: 'The people of Texas are informed that, in accordance with a proclamation from the Executive of the United States, all slaves are free.'”--HISTORY.com.

Mini Collection : Juneteenth [June 19th]: Home

JUNETEENTH : Featured eBooks

Selected Peer Reviewed Articles

Overview

Selected Videos

Mission