Home - Nursing - WNY - library at Bryant & Stratton College

NoodleTools APA Citation & Note-Taking Editor

PDF logo image Introduction to the Virtual Library

NURSING : Featured Databases

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Dynamic Health
Dynamic Health is an evidence-based tool designed to help nurses and allied health professionals master skills, obtain fast answers to questions and foster a culture of evidence-based practice and critical thinking leading to improved patient outcomes. Content at a Glance: Diseases & Conditions; Signs & Symptoms; Tests & Labs; Care Interventions; Skills; Drug Guide; Patient Handouts; Leadership Content; Treatment Modalities; Cultural Overviews.
Nursing eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Simplify the research process for nursing staff and students with this curated e-book collection designed for use in hospitals, medical institutions and academic institutions. From clinical guides and evidence-based practice manuals, to practical handbooks and professional growth titles, this collection provides researchers the information they need to provide outstanding care.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE Complete
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. It is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)

NURSING : Selected Library Resources

Additional eBooks may be discovered here.

Advancing Your Career : Concepts of Professional Nursing by Rose Kearney Nunnery (Author)
ISBN: 9781719647717

Publication Date: 2023-09-21
Artificial Intelligence in Health Care : The Hope, the Hype, the Promise, the Peril by National Academy of Medicine; The Learning Health System Series; Danielle Whicher (Editor); Mahnoor Ahmed (Editor); Sonoo Thadaney Israni (Editor); Michael Matheny (Editor)
ISBN: 9780309705134

Publication Date: 2023-09-02
Caring for the Displaced and Uninsured : Clinical Case Studies in Nursing and Healthcare by Leslie Neal-Boylan
ISBN: 9781119866039

Publication Date: 2022-10-24
Challenges in Long-Term Geriatric and Palliative Care. Topics, Pictures, Case Histories, Second Edition by Sameer Kassem (Author); Jochanan E. Naschitz (Author)
ISBN: 9798891137783

Publication Date: 2024
Clinical Skills : An Introduction for Nursing and Healthcare by Robin Richardson; Joanne Keeling
ISBN: 9781908625205

Publication Date: 2022-01-31
Critical Care Update 2022 by Rajesh Chandra Mishra; Dhruva Chaudhry; Subhash Todi; Deepak Govil
ISBN: 9789354656521

Publication Date: 2022-06-30
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand (Author); Cynthia A. Sanoski (Author)
ISBN: 9781719650038

Publication Date: 2024-05-08
Ethical Case Studies for Advanced Practice Nurses : Solving Dilemmas in Everyday Practice by Amber Vermeesch; Patricia Cox; Inga Giske; Kate Roberts
ISBN: 9781646480920

Publication Date: 2022-09-01
Fundamentals of Nursing by Cally L. Davis (Author)
ISBN: 9781779562074

Publication Date: 2024-06-11
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by Brigham Narins (Editor)
ISBN: 9781535877985

Publication Date: 2024-03-08
Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis by Lynda Juall Carpenito (Author)
ISBN: 9781284197976

Publication Date: 2021-12-10
Human Growth and Development Across the Lifespan 3rd Edition by Emma Zara O'Brien
ISBN: 9781739205751

Publication Date: 2022-10-14
Introduction to Anatomy by Krunal Bhatt (Editor); Dipak Gunvanta Ingole (Editor)
ISBN: 9781774696132

Publication Date: 2023-01-01
Introduction to Clinical Pharmacology: From Symptoms to Treatment by Victor Uteshev (Author), Daniel Llano (Author), Edward Shadiack (Author)
ISBN: 9781527525313

Publication Date: 2023
Journey Across the Life Span : Human Development and Health Promotion by Elaine U. Polan; Daphne R. Taylor
ISBN: 9781719645911

Publication Date: 2023-01-27
LPN Notes : Nurse's Clinical Pocket Guide by Ehren Myers (Author)
ISBN: 9781719650298

Publication Date: 2024-06-26
Nursing : Scope and Standards of Practice, 4th Edition by American Nurses Association
ISBN: 9780999308868

Publication Date: 2021-05-30
Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and into Practice by Janie B. Butts; Karen L. Rich
ISBN: 9781284259247

Publication Date: 2022-09-15
Nutrition Guide for Physicians and Related Healthcare Professions by Ted Wilson (Editor); Norman J. Temple (Editor); George A. Bray (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030825140

Publication Date: 2022-01-05
Phillips' Manual of I.V. Therapeutics : Evidence-Based Practice for Infusion Therapy by Lisa A. Gorski (Author)
ISBN: 9781719646093

Publication Date: 2022-10-28
Pocket Guide to Townsend's Psychiatric Nursing by Karyn I. Morgan
ISBN: 9781719648509

Publication Date: 2023-10-02
A Population Health Approach to Health Disparities for Nurses : Care of Vulnerable Populations by Faye A. Gary; Marilyn J. Lotas
ISBN: 9780826185037

Publication Date: 2022-11-04
Potter and Perry's Pocket Guide to Nursing Skills and Procedures by Patricia A. Potter (Author); Anne G. Perry (Author)
ISBN: 9780323870764

Publication Date: 2023-08-30
Procedure Checklists for Wilkinson's Fundamentals of Nursing by Leslie S. Treas; Karen L. Barnett; Mable H. Smith
ISBN: 9781719651493

Publication Date: 2023-11-21
Public/Community Health and Nursing Practice : Caring for Populations by Christine L. Savage; Gordon L. Gillespie; Erin R. Whitehouse
ISBN: 9781719647144

Publication Date: 2023-09-20
Public Health : An Introduction to the Science and Practice of Population Health by James M. Shultz; Sandro Galea; Lisa M. Sullivan
ISBN: 9780826180421

Publication Date: 2023-11-28
Short Course in Medical Terminology by Judi L. Nath (Author)
ISBN: 9781284272697

Publication Date: 2023-04-06
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Donald Venes
ISBN: 9781719642859

Publication Date: 2021-02-17

Selected Databases

At times it may be useful to search individual subject databases, as they search a smaller set of resources, reducing the number of irrelevant items that may appear in a broader search and thus helping to identify items relevant to your research project.

Academic Search Premier
This is a multi-disciplinary database. It provides full text for more than 4,600 journals titles. HTML or PDF full text articles are available in this database.
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.

You’ll find how-to-videos, usage guides, links to on-demand and live virtual training, and much more on the Cochrane Library Training Hub at https://www.wiley.com/en-us/customer-success/cochrane-library-training-hub?utm_medium=email&utm_source=custsvc&utm_campaign=CSHUB&utm_content=SS
DSM-5 Library
DSM-5 library provides access to:
*DSM-5
*DSM-5-TR
*DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis,
*DSM-5 Clinical Cases,
*Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5,
*DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview
DSM-5 TR
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.
Nursing eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Simplify the research process for nursing staff and students with this curated e-book collection designed for use in hospitals, medical institutions and academic institutions. From clinical guides and evidence-based practice manuals, to practical handbooks and professional growth titles, this collection provides researchers the information they need to provide outstanding care.
Open Dissertations (EBSCO)
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
Health and Medicine eBook Collection
Health & Medicine eBook Collection offers anytime, anywhere access to more than 18,000 eBooks. The collection supports medical and nursing staff and students in academic institutions, hospitals, and community college medical programs. The collection spans topics from Nursing, Allied Health, Psychology, Diseases, Pharmacology, Anatomy/Physiology to Biology, Chemical Engineering, and much more. Unlimited access, DRM-free chapter downloads, bookshelves and other features on EbookCentral
Health Business Elite
Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
Health Policy Reference Center
Health Policy Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of corporations, medical institutions, government agencies, and other entities relative to health policy.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE Complete
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. It is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.
Mental Health & Wellbeing Ebooks
The new Mental Health and Wellbeing Ebook Subscription brings the latest, most relevant psychology research and mental health Ebooks in one place and helps promote student wellbeing and self-care skills. Content topics include: Psychotherapy; Mental Health; Educational & Developmental Psychology; Stress Management, and more.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Visible Body Anatomy & Physiology
This interactive 3D teaching resource is comprised of 50 modules that incorporate 3D models, illustrations, and animations to present core content of basic anatomy and physiology courses.

Selected eJournals

AJN, American Journal of Nursing - Click here for access.
"Peer reviewed and evidence-based, the oldest and most honored broad-based nursing journal in the world is considered the profession’s premier journal."

Creative Nursing
"Addresses the concerns of nurses and those whose commitment is to strengthen the profession of nursing. Discusses issues vital to the nursing profession, such as international nursing and nurse leadership."
Peer reviewed.
Critical Care Nurse
"Publishes practical, clinically relevant manuscripts describing care of critically ill patients & their families. Provides information concerning the bedside care of critically & acutely ill patients."
Peer reviewed.
Dermatological Nursing
Peer reviewed.
Emergency Nurse
" Features peer-reviewed articles on the latest clinical innovations & best practice guidelines, as well as coverage of management & education issues."
Peer reviewed.
HIV Nursing
"Provides clinical and scientific information in the field of HIV/AIDS."
Peer reviewed.
Journal of Community Nursing
"Clinical and educational articles and features relating specifically to matters orientating to community and practice nursing. Readers' letter, diary dates, book reviews, and product news are also included."
Peer reviewed.
Journal of Transcultural Nursing
"Concerned with the influence of culture on nursing practice and the delivery of health care."
Peer reviewed.
Journal of Trauma Nursing
"International trauma nursing journal, focused on the care of the trauma patient throughout the continuum of care."
Peer reviewed.
MEDSURG Nursing
": Provides multidisciplinary information needed to provide clinically excellent patient care & to enhance nursing practices."
Peer reviewed.
New England Journal of Medicine
"The New England Journal of Medicine is the most widely read and influential medical journal in the world. Widely cited in journals of all medical specialties, the peer reviewed original articles are aimed at physicians and those interested in medical practice. Sections include Images in Clinical Medicine, Review Articles, Editorials, Correspondence, and Case Records of the Massachusetts General Hospital. The New England Journal of Medicine is owned and published by the Massachusetts Medical Society. Coverage in the Journals@Ovid database begins with the January 1993 issue."
Nursing Forum
"Offers an open discussion of the philosophies, theories and scientific endeavors that shape and change the discipline of contemporary nursing."
Peer reviewed.
Nursing in Practice: The Journal for Today's Primary Care Nurse
"Offering readers a mix of cutting-edge investigation, in-depth analysis and opinion pieces from all aspects of general practice medicine."
Peer reviewed.
Nursing Inquiry
"Concerned with historical, methodological, ethical, policy and substantive issues relating to the everyday practice of nursing."
Peer reviewed.
Nursing Reports
"Covers topics in nursing science, including research, practice, policy, education, etc."
Peer reviewed.
Pediatric Nursing
"Provides current information on practice, policy, and research for pediatric nurses. Emphasis is places on the changing role of the pediatric nurse practitioner/clinical specialist."
Peer reviewed.
Urologic Nursing
"Published for nurses, technicians, & allied health care professionals."
Peer reviewed.

PubMed Central (PMC)

PubMed Central (PMC)
"PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)."

NCLEX-RN Test Prep

HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by HESI
ISBN: 9780323831932

Publication Date: 2023-01-02
Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-RN® Exam by JoAnn Zerwekh
ISBN: 9780323777797

Publication Date: 2022-03-01
NCLEX-RN exam prep 2024-2025 : 500 NCLEX-RN test prep questions and answers with explanations by Nurse Tutor (Author)
ISBN: 9781917186841

Publication Date: 2024
Saunders Q & A Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination by Linda Anne Silvestri (Author), Angela E. Silvestri (Author)
ISBN: 9780323930574

Publication Date: 2024

NCLEX Practice Questions

NCLEX Practice Questions
"We have included more than 1,000+ NCLEX practice questions covering different nursing topics for this nursing test bank! We’ve made a significant effort to provide you with the most challenging questions along with insightful rationales for each question to reinforce learning."

Presentations

Advanced Virtual Library Searching Techniques for Nursing
This presentation demonstrates how to utilize the Advanced Search interface of the Virtual Library to locate research materials for nursing.

Professional Associations

Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses
"The Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN) is the only specialty nursing organization dedicated to the practice of medical-surgical nursing. Its mission is to promote excellence in medical-surgical nursing."
American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA)
"AMIA is an association in the United States dedicated to the development and application of medical informatics in the support of patient care, teaching, research, and health care administration."
American Nurses Association (ANA)
"ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the economic and general welfare of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public."
National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.
"National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) is an independent, not-for-profit organization through which nursing regulatory bodies act and counsel together on matters of common interest and concern affecting public health, safety and welfare, including the development of nursing licensure examinations."
National League for Nursing (NLN)
"The National League for Nursing advances quality nursing education that prepares the nursing workforce to meet the needs of diverse populations in an ever-changing health care environment."

Wiley Cochrane Library

Wiley Cochrane Library
"The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases."
Cochrane Library Training Hub
Looking for help with Cochrane Library? You’re in the right place! Browse our webinars, user guides and short training videos to find the resource you need to get the most out of your Cochrane Library subscription.

Surviving Nursing School

The Definitive Guide to Surviving Nursing School
"This comprehensive guide from EduMed featuring practical, easy-to-follow tips, advice and resources to help nursing students at every stage of nursing school."

Nursing - WNY

Search the BSC Virtual Library