Careers for the criminal justice major : a practical guide to course selection, descriptions of entry-level positions and best prospects for career development by Tomas C. MijaresThe purpose of this book is to address the proper preparation for careers in criminal justice. Now more than ever, there is a societal demand for willing college graduates who are prepared to enter the field at the basic level, and eager to develop themselves into positions of responsibility and leadership. Due to rapid and continuous changes in technology and overall society, students entering the field of criminal justice employment will be expected to adjust to changes in their line of work. This book describes the realistic descriptions of the various entry-level positions that are offered, and practical information is provided to maximize efficiency in the selection of academic courses that will improve a student's likelihood of success during the application process. Major topics include: A Short History of Criminal Justice as an Academic Study; The Nature of Professions; Electives that Will Help; The Importance of an Internship; Disqualifiers and What to Avoid During College Years; Stereotypes and Misperceptions in Criminal Justice Employment; Careers in Law Enforcement, Corrections, and Private Security; Graduate School and Law School; Realistic Alternatives; Networking, Looking for Employment Leads, and References; Preparing for Testing and the Interview; Preparing for Transfers to Specialized Units and Promotions; and the Roles of Nontraditional Students, Minorities, and Women in Criminal Justice. The names of state law enforcement training councils, federal law enforcement agencies, intelligence agencies, state regulatory agencies, federal regulatory agencies, and criminal justice professional associations are contained in the Appendices to assist students and faculty members. This valuable resource is designed to assist college students majoring in criminal justice, police academics, and law enforcement professionals.
Publication Date: Amenia, NY: Grey House Publishing, 2017. 1221 pp. 2 vols.
Cops, Cameras, and Crisis : The Potential and the Perils of Police Body-Worn Cameras by Michael D. White; Aili Malm2021 Outstanding Academic Title, Choice Magazine The first expert and comprehensive analysis of the surprising impact of body-worn cameras Following the tragic deaths of Eric Garner, Michael Brown, and others at the hands of police, interest in body-worn cameras for local, state, and federal law enforcement has skyrocketed. In Cops, Cameras, and Crisis, Michael D. White and Aili Malm provide an up-to-date analysis of this promising technology, evaluating whether it can address today's crisis in police legitimacy. Drawing on the latest research and insights from experts with field experience with police-worn body cameras, White and Malm show the benefits and drawbacks of this technology for police departments, police officers, and members of the public. Ultimately, they identify--and assess--each claim, weighing in on whether the specter of being "caught on tape" is capable of changing a criminal justice system desperately in need of reform. Cops, Cameras, and Crisis is a must-read for policymakers, police leaders, and activists interested in twenty-first-century policing.
Publication Date: 2020-02-25
Crime and Punishment in America: an Encyclopedia of Trends and Controversies in the Justice System [2 Volumes] by Laura L. Finley (Editor)Should people be able to use lethal force before retreating? What are the arguments for and against executing mentally ill inmates? Should police always need warrants to search individuals or their property? How can we best hold accountable white collar offenders? Why do men perpetrate crime at higher rates than women? This two-volume set grapples with the answers to these complex questions and many more, enabling readers to better understand current crime/punishment issues within the context of America's ever-evolving culture, economy, and politics. This multidisciplinary reference work offers a current and thorough compilation of the most important and hotly contested topics related to crime and criminal justice. Organized alphabetically, each entry presents scholarly research and authoritative sources to inform readers about the subject.
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
Criminal Enterprise Investigation by Thomas A. TrierMany cities, towns, and municipalities across the United States have criminal organizations operating within their jurisdictions. This book gives the investigator a guide to probing, evaluating, and analyzing local criminal organizations, with the goal of disrupting and dismantling criminal operations. Subjects covered include investigative field techniques, identification of enterprise vulnerabilities, and an in-depth look into FBI task forces. Intended for law enforcement and other criminal justice professionals, Criminal Enterprise Investigation provides readers with a critical "how to" guide to overcoming criminal enterprise in their communities. Features: Provides step-by-step guide to dismantling criminal organizations Includes real-life examples of successful investigations Covers a wide range of criminal groups, including domestic terrorists, drug cartels, gangs, white-collar criminals, and robbery and extortion rings For those working to combat criminal organizations, this book is an essential guide to best practices. Criminal Enterprise Investigation provides the theory, techniques, and real-world examples necessary to overcome criminal activity for those of any level of expertise, from seasoned criminal justice professionals to those just beginning their careers.
Publication Date: 2016-08-29
Criminality in Context : The Psychological Foundations of Criminal Justice Reform by Craig HaneyIn this groundbreaking book that is built on decades of work on the front lines of the criminal justice system, expert psychologist Craig Haney encourages meaningful and lasting reform by changing the public narrative about who commits crime and why. Based on his comprehensive review and analysis of the research, Haney offers a carefully framed and psychologically based blueprint for making the criminal justice system fairer, with strategies to reduce crime through proactive prevention instead of reactive punishment. Haney meticulously reviews evidence documenting the ways in which a person's social history, institutional experiences, and present circumstances powerfully shape their life, with a special focus on the role of social, economic, and racial injustice in crime causation. Haney debunks the "crime master narrative"--the widespread myth that criminality is a product of free and autonomous "bad" choices--an increasingly anachronistic view that cannot bear the weight of contemporary psychological data and theory. This is a must-read for understanding what truly influences criminal behavior, and the strategies for prevention and rehabilitation that follow.
Publication Date: 2020-01-01
Criminal Justice in America: the Encyclopedia of Crime, Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections [2 Volumes] by Carla Lewandowski (Editor); Jeff Bumgarner (Editor)This work offers a thorough introduction to the field of criminal justice, including types of crime; policing; courts and sentencing; landmark legal decisions; and local, state, and federal corrections systems--and the key topics and issues within each of these important areas. It provides a complete overview and understanding of the many terms, jobs, procedures, and issues surrounding this growing field of study. Another major focus of the work is to examine ethical questions related to policing and courts, trial procedures, law enforcement and corrections agencies and responsibilities, and the complexion of criminal justice in the United States in the 21st century. Finally, this title emphasizes coverage of such politically charged topics as drug trafficking and substance abuse, immigration, environmental protection, government surveillance and civil rights, deadly force, mass incarceration, police militarization, organized crime, gangs, wrongful convictions, racial disparities in sentencing, and privatization of the U.S. prison system.
Publication Date: Ipswich, Massachusetts : Salem Press, 
Criminal Justice Technology in the 21st Century by Laura J. Moriarty (Editor)This third edition, arriving nearly 12 years after the previous one, is not only timely but overdue. This text offers a welcome and appropriate mixture of knowledge or information about specific types of technology along with empirical studies of certain technology used in various subcomponents of the criminal justice system. This text consists of 12 chapters, with eight completely new and four substantially revised and updated. The text is arranged into two parts: law enforcement technology and public safety technology. Major topics include: technology infrastructure: what it is and how it's changing; current overview of law enforcement technology; body-worn cameras: the new normal; avoiding the technological panacea of the body-worn camera; examining perceptions of technology-enabled crimes; digital forensics; technological advancements in keeping victims safe; the evolution of offender electronic monitoring: from radio signals to satellite technology; technoprisons: technology and prisons; inside the Darknet: techno-crime and criminal opportunity; securing cyberspace in the 21st century; and assessing the deployment of automated license place recognition technology and strategies to improve public safety. Numerous illustrations and tables highlight the chapter contents. Students, educators, and practitioners will find this new edition most useful as it provides practical knowledge about different technology advances and projections on many levels. This third edition has developed into an excellent resource that allows both neophyte and expert to learn state-of-the-art information.
Publication Date: 2017-01-05
Dictionary of Criminology by Mwene MushangaIn professional disciplines, just as in academics, the definition of basic concepts is fundamental for adequate understanding of issues. A dictionary of criminology may be regarded as irrelevant for the simple reason that criminology cannot be said to constitute an academic or professional discipline in East Africa. But this dictionary is not limited to criminological or sociological concepts alone. Just like any academic discipline, it covers other areas of social studies such as law, economics and politics. The dictionary covers some areas that, to the average reader, are least related to law and crime; but to the specialist, even the least likely entry, like race, tribe and democracy is, in some remote way, linked to the incidence of crime, delinquency or deviance.
Publication Date: Nairobi, Kenya : LawAfrica Publishing Ltd. 2013
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-2015, 4th Edition [2 Volumes] by John R. VileNow in its fourth edition and completely updated, this is the most comprehensive book on constitutional amendments and proposed amendments available. Although only 27 amendments have ever been added to the U.S. Constitution, the last one having been ratified in 1992, throughout American history, members of Congress have introduced more than 11,000 amendments, and countless individuals outside of Congress have advanced their own proposals to revise the Constitution--the wellspring of America's legal, political, and cultural foundations. At a time when calls for a new constitutional convention are on the rise, it is essential for students of political science and history as well as American citizens to understand proposed alternatives. This updated edition of the established standard for high school and college libraries as well as public and law libraries serves as the go-to reference for learning about existing constitutional amendments, proposed amendments, and the issues related to them. An alphabetically arranged two-volume set, it contains more than 500 entries that discuss amendments that have been proposed in Congress from 1789 to the present. It also discusses prominent proposals for extensive constitutional changes introduced outside Congress as well as discussions of major amending issues. Provides clear explanations of each of the 27 constitutional amendments that have been adopted throughout U.S. history as well as essays on the subjects of the thousands of other proposals that have been made Articulates important issues involving the constitutional amending process Outlines key proposals for more radical changes to the U.S. Constitution that have been introduced outside of Congress
Publication Date: 2015-07-20
Ethical Issues in Policing by Seumas Miller; John BlacklerPolice Studies constitute an important area of academic inquiry and policing raises a large number of ethical questions, yet to date there has been a paucity of research on the subject. This significant volume provides an integrated mix of ethico-philosophical analysis combined with practitioner knowledge and experience to examine and address the large number of difficult ethical questions involved in modern-day policing. Key features: ¢ Outlines a distinctive philosophical theory of policing which promotes the human rights dimension of police work. ¢ Analyzes the phenomenon of noble cause corruption and ways to combat it. ¢ Examines the role of restorative justice. ¢ Discusses the related notions of police authority and police discretion. ¢ Assesses the use of coercive and deadly force. ¢ Provides a detailed discussion of recent issues such as privacy and confidentiality in the context of new communication and information technologies, and entrapment. Philosophical in approach and written in an accessible style, the book will be a valuable guide for all those with an interest or involvement in Police Studies, Criminology, Philosophy and Ethics.
Publication Date: 2016-11-10
The Handbook of Juvenile Delinquency and Juvenile Justice by Marvin D. Krohn (Editor); Jodi Lane (Editor)This handbook is an up-to-date examination of advances in the fields of juvenile delinquency and juvenile justice that includes interdisciplinary perspectives from leading scholars and practitioners. Examines advances in the fields of juvenile delinquency and juvenile justice with interdisciplinary perspectives from leading scholars and practitioners Provides a current state of both fields, while also assessing where they have been and defining where they should go in years to come Addresses developments in theory, research, and policy, as well as cultural changes and legal shifts Contains summaries of juvenile justice trends from around the world, including the US, the Netherlands, Brazil, Russia, India, South Africa, and China Covers central issues in the scholarly literature, such as social learning theories, opportunity theories, criminal processing, labeling and deterrence, gangs and crime, community-based sanctions and reentry, victimization, and fear of crime
Publication Date: 2015-06-22
An Introduction to Criminological Theory, Penology and Crime Prevention by Ishmael MugariThis book combines three key issues in the field of criminology: criminological theory, penology and crime prevention. Thus, the book addresses three fundamental criminological aspects, namely: explaining the causes of criminal/deviant behaviour, explaining the process of dealing with deviants/criminals, and articulating ways for preventing criminal activities. This is an essential book for researchers and students undertaking undergraduate and post-graduate programmes in criminology and criminal justice. The book is also essential for security and correctional practitioners such as police officers, correction officers, probation officers and private security players, as well as criminal crime control policy makers. As a lecturer in the field of criminology for some time, I discovered the challenges that most students face in comprehending various divergent aspects of criminological theory, as well as other issues in the areas of penology and crime prevention. However, this essential book logically presents the criminological theories, penology and crime prevention aspects in simple language, and anyone who reads it will find it easy to grasp all the various aspects it covers. To assist with comprehension, summaries of main issues and discussion questions are placed at the end of each chapter. The book is comprised of eight chapters. Chapter one, the introductory chapter, explains key concepts such as criminology, crime, deviance, criminal justice and crime statistics. The chapter also gives a brief history of criminology and outlines the role of the criminologist, among other issues. Chapter two to chapter six cover criminological theories in classes as follows: chapter two covers the classical and neoclassical school of criminology; chapter three covers the positivist school of criminology; chapter four covers socio-structural theories; chapter five covers social process theories; and chapter six covers critical theories. Chapter seven covers white-collar criminology and, given that most of the pioneer criminologists mainly focused on street crime, the chapter looks at white-collar crime, which is even more harmful. Chapter eight focuses on penology, which is the study of punishment and the treatment of offenders. It covers areas such as theories of punishment, forms of punishment, the death penalty, restorative justice and recidivism. Lastly, chapter nine focuses on crime control and prevention. The chapter starts by looking at two models of the criminal justice process, the crime control model and the due process model. The bulk of the chapter then looks at crime prevention, which entails any action designed to reduce the actual level of crime and/or the perceived fear of crime. Among others, the chapter looks at crime prevention through environmental design, situational crime prevention, crime prevention through social development, as well as various policing strategies for crime prevention.
Publication Date: 2021-01-29
Juvenile Justice and Delinquency by Barry A. Krisberg Juvenile Justice and Delinquency brings into focus the causes of delinquency and provides students with a broad, up-to-date review of the latest research, statistical data, theories, and court decisions in the U.S. juvenile justice system. Author Barry Krisberg writes from a research-based approach which offers students pragmatic solutions to problemswithin the system--focusing on the reformative power of redemptive justice. Students will take away a foundational understanding of the current policies and issues shaping the juvenile justice system and practical strategies for helping juveniles improve and move their lives in a more positive direction.
Publication Date: 2017-03-15
Private Security and the Investigative Process by Charles P. NemethPrivate Security and the Investigative Process, Fourth Edition is fully updated and continues to provide complete coverage of the investigative process for private investigations by both individuals and in corporate security environments. This edition covers emerging technology, revised legal and practical considerations for conducting interviews, and new information on case evaluation. Written by a recognized expert in security, criminal justice, ethics, and the law--with over three decades of experience--the updated edition of this popular text covers concepts and techniques that can be applied to a variety of investigations including fraud, insurance, private, and criminal. It details the collection and preservation of evidence, the handling of witnesses, surveillance techniques, background investigations, and report writing. The book reflects best practices and includes tips for ensuring accurate and reliable private sector security investigations. This new edition includes: A new section on career opportunities in paths in the investigative field A rundown of the leading security Industry associations and professional standards being published Added discussion of observational interviews include current protocols analyzing data Details of the current legal implications for security surveillance and practices Advances in technology to thwart crime and fraud in retail and other business settings An entirely new section on e-records from criminal and civil judgments Authoritative, yet accessible, this book is one of the only textbooks dedicated to the subject. It also serves as an important reference for private investigators and security professionals. Complete with numerous forms, checklists, and web exercises, it provides the tools and understanding required to conduct investigations that are professional, ethical, and effective.
Publication Date: 2019-09-11
Professional Writing for the Criminal Justice System by Jill Harrison; Daniel Weisman; Joseph L. ZornadoThis user-friendly guide to effective writing for the justice system teaches readers to write cogently and accurately across the spectrum of criminal justice-related disciplines. With an examination of common writing problems that interfere with good reporting and documentation, the book's content underscores the importance of skilled written communication as a cornerstone of competent practice within criminology. It provides examples of strong writing that demonstrate communication of cultural competency and help students develop critical thinking/writing skills. Of outstanding value are numerous examples of real-world writing alongside discussion questions and explanations, enabling students to think critically and truly understand what constitutes good writing. Actual forms and records used in practice are included along with real-world writing examples drawn from all areas of practice: police, corrections, probation and parole services, social work, miscellaneous court documents, and victim advocate services requiring all kinds of writing, including case notes, incident reports, op-ed essays, press releases, grant applications, and more. A robust Glossary of Writing and Writing Errors concludes the book. Key Features: Addresses the increasingly common issue of criminal justice students and professionals deficiencies in cultural competency and critical thinking as they relate to writing skillsOffers an interactive approach based on real practice and tied to criminal justice students and professionals interestsIncludes examples of good and poor writing, with corrections and explanations for the bad examplesDisplays actual forms and records used by law enforcement agencies, correctional departments, and related organizationsFosters the development of critical and culturally competent writing skills
Publication Date: 2017-04-01
Race, Rights, and Redemption : The Derrick Bell Lectures on the Law and Critical Race Theory by Janet Dewart BellLeading legal lights weigh in on key issues of race and the law—collected in honor of one of the originators of critical race theory “Penetrating essays on race and social stratification within policing and the law, in honor of pioneering scholar Derrick Bell.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) When Derrick Bell, one of the originators of critical race theory, turned sixty-five, his wife founded a lecture series with leading scholars, including critical race theorists, many of them Bell's former students. Now these lectures, given over the course of twenty-five years, are collected for the first time in a volume Library Journal calls “potent” and Kirkus Reviews, in a starred review, says “powerfully acknowledge[s] the persistence of structural racism.” “To what extent does equal protection protect?” asks Ian Haney López in a penetrating analysis of the gaps that remain in our civil rights legal codes. Sherrilyn Ifill, president and director-counsel of the NAACP Legal Defense Fund, describes the hypersegregation of our cities and the limits of the law's ability to change deep-seated attitudes about race. Patricia J. Williams explores the legacy of slavery in the law's current constructions of sanity. Anita Allen discusses competing privacy and accountability interests in the lives of African American celebrities. Chuck Lawrence interrogates the judicial backlash against affirmative action. And Michelle Alexander describes what caused her to break ranks with the civil rights community and take up the cause of those our legal system has labeled unworthy. Race, Rights, and Redemption (which was originally published in hardcover under the title Carving Out a Humanity) gathers some of our country's brightest progressive legal stars in a volume that illuminates facets of the law that have continued to perpetuate racial inequality and to confound our nation at the start of a new millennium. With contributions by: Michelle Alexander Anita Allen Derrick Bell Stephen Bright Paul Butler John Calmore Devon W. Carbado William Carter Jr. Emma Coleman Jordan Richard Delgado Annette Gordon-Reed Jasmine Gonzales Rose Lani Guinier Cheryl I. Harris Ian Haney López Sherrilyn Ifill Charles Lawrence Kenneth W. Mack Mari Matsuda Charles Ogletree Angela Onwuachi-Willig Theodore M. Shaw Kendall Thomas Patricia J. Williams Robert A. Williams
Publication Date: New York : The New Press. 2021
The U.S. Justice System: An Encyclopedia [3 Volumes] by Steven Harmon Wilson (Editor)A comprehensive, three-volume set that provides detailed background essays, short topical entries, and primary document excerpts to explain the organization, history, and functioning of the U.S. justice system. The U.S. Justice System: An Encyclopedia is a one-stop resource, uniquely structured to include both introductory information as well as more in-depth and detailed resources. It explains not only how the American civil and criminal justice system affects the parties to a particular case or other legal action, but also how the rights, benefits, and legal protections of our country impact virtually all people in America. The set comprises three volumes. The first volume provides chapter-length essays explaining the organization and functioning of federal, state, and local government, as well as the working of federal and state judiciaries, regulatory bodies, and penal systems. The second volume contains shorter, alphabetically arranged entries on hundreds of law-related topics, including case descriptions and biographies of major figures, federal and state court organizational charts, legal statistics, and other background information. The third volume contains original documents, statutes, and texts of important cases relevant to the functioning of the American justice system. Readers will understand the structures, concepts, and vocabulary of American law and legal institutions, and grasp how the U.S. legal system has evolved to meet the complex changing needs of the nation. More than 50 contributing scholars provide a variety of expertise from the fields of law, history, and politics A separate volume of primary source documents A comprehensive bibliography as well as suggested readings for each essay and article A glossary of hundreds of key terms like "contract," "injunction," and "precedent"
Publication Date: 2011-12-06
The U. S. Supreme Court by Salem Press (Editor)The U.S. Supreme Court is a comprehensive survey of the history and functions of the Supreme Court. Although it has only nine unelected members, it alone can overturn the actions of every other branch of government, at all levels. There is no other institution quite like the Supreme Court-in the United States or anywhere else in the world. This comprehensive set provides accessible information on all the Supreme Court Justices, articles on key constitutional issues and hundreds of landmark cases. In addition, The U.S. Supreme Court contains essays on types of law, such as administrative law, bankruptcy law, and state constitutions, individual pieces of legislation. The U.S. Supreme Court contains essays on types of law (such as administrative law, bankruptcy law, and state constitutions), individual pieces of legislation, and clauses and amendments to the U.S. Constitution, specific historical events and eras, along with an explanation of the procedures and mechanics of how the Supreme Court works. Completely updated for 2016, with a full update to existing entries, this edition of The U.S. Supreme Court provides many new entries, including new analysis of the cases and decision that affect gun rights, campaign finance, same-sex marriage, class-action lawsuits, and the future of unions, to name just a few. Easy-to-understand entries provide students and researchers with a broad understanding of the power of the Supreme Court and how it functions, alongside an in-depth analysis of the cases and decisions that have shaped American life.
This database provides the leading collection of bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It contains information in the most important scholarly business journals, trade publications and top management journals, and non-journal content, including financial data, books, monographs, major references works, case studies, industry & market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
EBSCO eBooks Open Access Collection was created in collaboration with university presses and scholarly OA publishers to provide users with a large selection of discoverable content, which will continue to grow by the thousands. With the collection, libraries gain access to all current and future OA e-books with DRM-free access on the EBSCO platform. (DRM-free eBooks; not strictly OER).
DRM-Free eBooks are eBooks with unlimited access to users and no Digital Rights Management restrictions on printing, saving, copying, etc. Full-book downloads require no sign-in, no Adobe ID, and no special software such as Adobe Digital Editions. The only requirement is that the user authenticates to the institution's collection.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. It contains information from magazine, academic journal, newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images podcasts, and links to Websites.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Health Policy Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of corporations, medical institutions, government agencies, and other entities relative to health policy.
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
This database covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
This database offers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues.
This database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. It is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Religion & Philosophy Collection provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
SAGE Premier is an invaluable investment for your library. It includes leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Our interdisciplinary coverage is unparalleled, spanning subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more, supporting the needs of varied institutional programs. The one-stop research shop!
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
Focuses on criminal justice topics & issues, including the criminal justice process, interplay between system components, problems & solutions, innovative practices, policy development & implementation, evaluative research, & other related interests.
Articles focusing on ethical issues in criminal justice by philosophers, criminal justice professionals, lawyers and judges and the general public on topics relating to the police, courts, corrections and issues in legal philosophy.
Devoted to policy discussions of criminology research findings. The central objective of the journal is to strengthen the role of research findings in the formulation of crime & justice policy by publishing empirically based, policy focused articles.
Contains analysis of the many aspects of criminal justice, contributed to by academics, researchers, & professionals; discusses national & international issues; features "Contemporary Comments," which are at the cutting edge of the crime & justice debate
Provides an international and interdisciplinary forum of research, outcome studies, and evidence-based policies and practices on victimization, victim assistance, offender rehabilitation and treatment, and restorative justice.
"The Bureau of Justice Statistics’ (BJS) Corrections Unit maintains over 30 data collections. Most are annual collections of administrative data from correctional administrators, ranging from basic population counts and offender demographic characteristics to facility capacity, programs, staff, and resources."
"The Prosecution and Adjudication Statistics Unit examines criminal and civil cases as they are processed through the judicial system, as well as the organizations that play key roles in the judicial process. The unit also oversees several specialized projects that focus on specific crimes, offenders, and systems, such as human trafficking, juveniles processed in state court systems, and tribal justice systems."
Content: Text -- United States Code [various documents and authors] -- State Statutes by Topic: Criminal Code -- State Statutes by Topic: Procedure -- Organizations -- American Bar Association Criminal Justice Section -- NCJRS: Justice Information Center -- US Department of Justice Bureau of Justice Statistics -- US department of Justice Criminal Division -- US Department of Justice Federal Bureau of Investigation -- Other -- Criminal Law and Justice Research Guide -- FindLaw : Legal Subjects : Criminal Law -- Legal Information Institute: Criminal Law -- Legal Information Institute: Criminal Procedure.
Content: Community Corrections Technologies -- Executive session on Community Corrections -- Offender Monitoring Technologies -- Programs for Drug-Involved Offenders -- Sex Offenders -- Discussion-on-justice-involved-your-adults.
"Contents: Introduction/What Offender Interviews Have Found -- Concrete Advice on Conducting Offender Interviews -- Endnotes -- References -- Related POP Projects -- Glossary."
The Bryant & Stratton College Virtual Library supports the college mission and curricular needs through acquisition and dissemination of resources in all online media formats and as well as by meeting the critical information needs of its students, faculty, staff, and alumni. In support of the curriculum, the emphasis is on resource and information literacy instruction, digital and Internet access and instruction, and research and writing instruction. The library's purpose is to enable the students to attain the goals outlined in the College Mission Statement.