library: Solon Campus Library Resources: Liberal Arts

NoodleTools APA Citation & Note-Taking Editor

Introduction to the Virtual Library

LIBERAL ARTS : Featured Database

Sage Premier
SAGE Premier is an invaluable investment for your library. It includes leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Our interdisciplinary coverage is unparalleled, spanning subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more, supporting the needs of varied institutional programs. The one-stop research shop!
Social Justice Suite
Social Justice Suite includes:
(1) Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, a unique database to create an environment for open and positive dialogue.
(2) Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, with the same vision.
(3) Civil Rights and Social Justice, another free research database dedicated to the fight for civil rights in America.
(4) Open Society Justice Initiative, as the fourth database within our Social Justice Suite.
(5) LGBTQ+ Rights is a database to showcase the history of the gay rights movement, as well as the inequalities that still exist today.

Students may access these by following these steps
1. Under ‘Access Through Your Institution,’ type Bryant & Stratton College
2. Click Log In.
Training Video: All About the Social Justice Suite

LIBERAL ARTS : Selected Library Resources

Selected eBooks

Additional eBooks may be discovered here.

African American Literature: An Encyclopedia for Students by Hans A. Ostrom (Editor); J. David Macey (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440871504

Publication Date: 2019-11-15
Basic Biology by Khushboo Chaudhary (Author); Pankaj Kumar Saraswat (Author)
ISBN: 9781774695616

Publication Date: 2023-01-01
Being Urban: A Sociology of City Life, 3rd Edition : A Sociology of City Life by G. Patrick March; Nicholas P. Dempsey; David Karp; William C. Yoels
ISBN: 9780275956479

Publication Date: 2015-09-09
Communicating COVID-19 : Everyday Life, Digital Capitalism, and Conspiracy Theories in Pandemic Times by Christian Fuchs
ISBN: 9781801177238

Publication Date: 2021-09-06
Creating a Career Portfolio by Greg Williams
ISBN: 9781607281030

Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Economic Doctrines: The Origins by Avtandil Silagadze; Tamar Atanelishvili; Nodar Silagadze
ISBN: 9781536153750

Publication Date: 2019-07-18
General Microbiology by P Smith
ISBN: 9789387642027

Publication Date: [N.p.] : Astral International Pvt Ltd. 2018
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History by Howard Chiang, et al, eds.
ISBN: 9780684325545

Publication Date: Farmington Hills, MI: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2019. 1873 pp. 3 vols.
The Handy Communication Answer Book by Lauren Sergy
ISBN: 9781578595877

Publication Date: 2017-04-11
A History of the 20th Century : Conflict, Technology and Revolution by Jeremy Black (Author)
ISBN: 9781398818613

Publication Date: 2022
Introduction to Sociology by Frank van Tubergen (Author)
ISBN: 9780815353843

Publication Date: 2020-03-11
Making Morality Work by Holly M. Smith
ISBN: 9780199560080

Publication Date: 2018-06-26
Pandemic Societies by Jean-Louis Denis (Editor); Catherine Régis (Editor); Daniel M. Weinstock (Editor); Clara Champagne (As told to)
ISBN: 9780228009047

Publication Date: 2021-10-15
Pathophysiology: a Practical Approach by Lachel Story (Author)
ISBN: 9781284288094

Publication Date: 2024-04-22
Rewriting Psychology : An Abysmal Science? by David Ho
ISBN: 9781627347181

Publication Date: 2019-06-30
Understanding Anatomy & Physiology : A Visual, Auditory, Interactive Approach by Gale Sloan Thompson
ISBN: 9780803676459

Publication Date: 2019-10-16
Your Guide to College Writing by Daniel Couch
ISBN: 9781943536917

Publication Date: 2021-09-01

Gale eBook History Collection

Gale eBook History Collection
The Gale eBooks homepage allows users to either browse by subject or search the full catalog.

Selected Databases

At times it may be useful to search individual subject databases, as they search a smaller set of resources, reducing the number of irrelevant items that may appear in a broader search and thus helping to identify items relevant to your research project.

Academic Search Premier
This is a multi-disciplinary database. It provides full text for more than 4,600 journals titles. HTML or PDF full text articles are available in this database.
Points of View Reference Source (EBSCO)
Points of View provides information for many current hottest social topics, such as earth & environment, global issues, energy & conservation. This database also contains a research guide to help students learn how to choose a research topic, how to create an essay outline, how to write a thesis statement, how to write a persuasive essay and how to cite sources.
Gale eBooks
Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Literary Reference Center
This database contains full text plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticisms, author biographies, literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, author interviews, etc.
MasterFILE Premier
This is a multidisciplinary database. It provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information. It covers virtually every subject area of general interest.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Religion & Philosophy Collection provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Sage Premier
SAGE Premier is an invaluable investment for your library. It includes leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Our interdisciplinary coverage is unparalleled, spanning subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more, supporting the needs of varied institutional programs. The one-stop research shop!
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Database Search Tips (LIBRARY GUIDE)
Content: Search Strategy -- Keyword Tips -- Boolean Operators -- Subject Searching -- Field Searching -- Using Limiters -- Search Results Tips -- Evaluating Websites -- Reading Strategically.

Selected Websites

Critical Thinking (WEB)
Contents: What is critical thinking? Importance -- Other definitions -- How to improve -- Teaching critical thinking -- Assessment tests.
Ethics Resources (WEB)
Access hundreds of ethics articles, case studies, briefings, and other materials on applied ethics across a variety of fields.
Interpersonal Web (WEB)
Contents: Cultural context -- Self concept -- Relational development -- Listening & perception -- Verbal and nonverbal messages -- Types of relationships -- Communication process.
Using Research Introduction (WEB)
"Once you have collected the research necessary to complete your project, it is time to incorporate it into your writing. This section outlines resources that will help you learn how to quote, paraphrase, and summarize information from your sources. It also contains information on writing with statistics and strategies for fair use."
Writing Guides (WEB)
CONTENT: How to Write a Thesis Statement -- Paragraphs and Topic Sentences -- Personal Statements & Application Letters -- Plagiarism -- Proofreading Grammar -- Proofreading Spelling -- Taking an Essay Exam -- Using Evidence -- Using Outlines -- Writing Abstracts -- Writing Book Reviews -- Writing Conclusions.

Mission Statement

The Bryant & Stratton College Virtual Library supports the college mission and curricular needs through acquisition and dissemination of resources in all online media formats and as well as by meeting the critical information needs of its students, faculty, staff, and alumni. In support of the curriculum, the emphasis is on resource and information literacy instruction, digital and Internet access and instruction, and research and writing instruction. The library's purpose is to enable the students to attain the goals outlined in the College Mission Statement.

Solon Campus Library Resources

Quick Links

Search the BSC Virtual Library