Absolute Essentials of Operations Management by Andrew GreasleyThis short textbook consolidates all the key aspects of operations management into a concise and easily accessible reference tool. Comprising the management of creating goods and delivering services to customers, operations management plays an essential role in the success of any organization. This book discusses the main areas of operations management, such as the design of the operations system, including product, process and job design. It also covers the management of operations, including lean operations and supply chain management. Breaking the subject down into its key components, this book provides a core introduction for undergraduate students studying operations management as part of business and management degrees.
Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Advanced Introduction to Sustainable Competitive Advantage in Sales by Lawrence B. ChonkoThis unique Advanced Introduction offers an insight into how sales leaders seek and maintain a sustainable competitive advantage for both organizations and customers. Lawrence B. Chonko explores how sales leaders take professional selling to the next level by focusing on serving the customer. Discussing the key skills of sales leaders - technological proficiency, managing change, and harnessing and using knowledge - Chonko analyzes how sales leaders are distinguished from other sales professionals.
Publication Date: 2021-05-25
Cases on Corporate Social Responsibility and Contemporary Issues in Organizations by Alexandros Antonaras (Editor); Paraskevi Dekoulou (Editor)The last decades witnessed a vigorous debate over the role of corporations in society. Interest in corporate social responsibility (CSR) has become intense as corporate stakeholders have called for higher performance and ethical standards from businesses, and many corporations have developed CSR programs to harvest the benefits resulting from such initiatives. CSR practices have become a crucial component of business strategy contributing to organizational success and sustainable competitiveness. Cases on Corporate Social Responsibility and Contemporary Issues in Organizations is an essential reference source that provides specific case studies that elaborate on the strategies and policies enacted by contemporary organizations to address environmental and social issues, as well as economic and financial ones. Featuring research on topics such as sustainable development goals, CSR pillars, employee retention, gender equality, and social accountability, this book is ideally designed for business managers, researchers, practitioners, and students seeking coverage on innovative business practices enacted in multiple organizations/industries.
Publication Date: 2019-02-15
The Circular Economy : Case Studies About the Transition From the Linear Economy by Mika Sillanpaa; Chaker NcibiThe Circular Economy: Case Studies about the Transition from the Linear Economy explores examples of the circular economy in action. Unlike other books that provide narrow perceptions of wide-ranging and highly interconnected paradigms, such as supply chains, recycling, businesses models and waste management, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the circular economy from various perspectives. Its unique insights into the approaches, methods and tools that enable people to make the transformation to a circular economy show how recent research, trends and attitudes have moved beyond the "call to arms" approach to a level of maturity that requires sound scientific thinking.
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
Corporate Social Responsibility Agenda: The Case For Sustainable And Responsible Business by Olivier DelbardCorporate Social Responsibility (CSR) has become a buzzword in management today. And yet, skepticism often prevails, as CSR is often associated with traditional philanthropic practices enabling companies to greenwash their unethical social and environmental practices. This book offers a fresh view on today's CSR from both historical and geographical perspectives. Exploring its roots and theoretical developments in the US, the author then focuses on how CSR has spread across the world, first in Europe and later in the developing world. An updated overview of today's CSR agenda is provided with a focus on four key issues: stakeholder inclusion, employee engagement and social dialogue, human rights and environmental sustainability. With the support of multiple cases and examples taken from various continents and industries, the book adopts a sustainability-driven perspective, based on the belief that the future of CSR lies in the strategic embeddeness of key issues into the company's value chain. Finally, the book attempts to draw the contours of tomorrow's CSR by proposing a new terminology reflecting the current evolution of CSR.
Publication Date: 2020-01-14
Elite Sales Strategies : A Guide to Being One-Up, Creating Value, and Becoming Truly Consultative by Anthony IannarinoAccelerate your sales career with this how-to book from an expert in sales In Elite Sales Strategies, expert sales leader Anthony Iannarino offers his philosophy about becoming a commercial success. This guidebook provides unique insights into how to approach every sale by serving your clients from a position of authority and expertise. As Iannarino himself notes, this technique speaks to an ethical obligation towards your client, combining ethics and tactics to help place you in a position where your strengths can be fully utilized. This guidebook suggests putting yourself in a "one-up" position, where you, as the salesperson, come to a client in a position of authority and strength, where you yourself are qualified to offer nuanced and helpful advice to companies that have put themselves in a "one-down" position, whether that be by bad decision-making, poor understanding of the marketplace, or bad luck. At its heart, this book suggests you find the advantages that you can provide that will, in turn, help your client become "one-up" themselves in their own field and ensure they achieve the better results they need. In addition, Elite Sales Strategies provides readers with: A step-by-step approach for how to become "one-up" yourself and what you provide to your clients A healthy analysis of what makes a person or a company "one-down" and tips on how to course correct Strategies, tactics, and talk tracks that will provide you with what you need to become "one-up" Terminology and vocabulary so that you can approach your client with tact and decorum while still addressing the weaknesses of their system As a successful international speaker, author, and sales leader, Anthony Iannarino brings a unique set of skills to bear in this book. Iannarino's tried-and-true methodology is an ideal resource for sales professionals in all fields, as well as for executives and managers looking to improve their sales success and position within the business world.
Publication Date: 2022-04-05
Integrated Project Management Sourcebook : A Technical Guide to Project Scheduling, Risk and Control by Mario VanhouckeThis handbook is a unique,comprehensive resource for professional project managers and students inproject management courses that focuses on the integration between baselinescheduling, schedule risk analysis and project control, also known as DynamicScheduling or Integrated Project Management and Control. It contains a set ofmore than 70 articles. Each individual article focuses on one particular topic andfeatures links to other articles in this book, where appropriate. Almost allarticles are accompanied with a set of questions, the answers to which are providedat the end of the book. Thisbook is accompanied by and is based on the Project Management KnowledgeCenter (www.pmknowledgecenter.com), an online learning platform for IntegratedProject Management.
Publication Date: 2016-04-04
Let Me Speak to the Manager! : Selling From the Buyer’s Point of View by Daniel M. BolandOnce your customer asks to speak to the manager, your business is on the line and your reputation is at risk. If you do not handle the situation sensitively, it's all downhill from there. Let Me Speak to the Manager! teaches how to keep customers from reaching the point of total frustration.Dr. Boland presents an in-depth explanation of how a manager's influence and leadership can change employee attitudes. The key to avoiding unpleasant events is to make sure they do not occur. Let Me Speak to the Manager! teaches how to work with salespeople, employees, and customers.
Publication Date: 2020-03-14
Management Accounting Standards for Sustainable Business Practices by Ionica Oncioiu (Editor); Gary Cokins (Editor); Sorinel Cpuneanu (Editor); Dan Ioan Topor (Editor)Modern companies are under increasing pressure to conduct their business in an environmentally responsible manner due to social and environmental problems. They must find the means to deploy their businesses in a socially- and environmentally-sustainable way without sacrificing their economic performance (e.g., profits to shareholders and owners) and wellbeing. By integrating multiple processes and methods, management accounting plays a key role in achieving a company's sustainability, notably by providing reliable, relevant, accurate, and timely information to managers. Management Accounting Standards for Sustainable Business Practices is a pivotal reference source that explores how management accounting plays a key role in establishing future business strategies and adapting to business, corporate image, and reputation, and identifies responses to the requirements of the business environment and all stakeholders in developing multilateral communication and interactive relationships. It contrasts external financial accounting for government regulators and the investment community with internal management accounting for managers to leverage for decision making. Featuring research on topics such as ethical practices, creative accounting, and strategic planning, this book is ideally designed for CFOs, financial controllers, business analysts, FP&A analysts, managers, leaders, researchers, and students.
Publication Date: 2019-07-05
Management and Visualisation : Seeing Beyond the Strategic by Gordon FletcherAs organisations of all sizes become increasingly digitalised, a core management challenge remains unresolved. The ability to successfully and sustainably connect the stated vision of an organisation with its strategic plans and, in turn, with the reported reality of day-to-day operations, is largely an elusive ambition, despite the many stated advantages provided by contemporary technologies. In this book, the case is made for visual management as a method of communications, planning, learning and reporting that connects the organisation in a single, meaningful and seamless way. Throughout this book, visual management is theorised around the position that all forms of management documentation are an artefact of human construction and of the organisation itself that reflect learned patterns of activity. The book places visual management as a more intuitive and seamless method of coordinating, learning and communicating across an organisation than more traditional formats of presenting management documents. Consciously assembling the artefacts of an organisation in order to manage it introduces a layer of criticality that encourages reflection and consistency that is often absent from current management practice. The benefits that a visual approach brings to organisational management are an increasing necessity, as machine learning, robotics and process automation remove traditional roles from organisations and necessitate new views on how individuals now fit into a data-informed business. The book contributes to the academic debate regarding resource-based and knowledge-based views of the organisation by advocating a different, more holistic viewpoint and will thus appeal to academics and researchers in this area. It would also benefit students across business disciplines, whilst the practical models and tools offered will benefit directors and managers looking to implement their own visual organisational language.
Marketing Analytics : Essential Tools for Data-Driven Decisions by Rajkumar Venkatesan; Paul W. Farris; Ronald T. WilcoxThe authors of the pioneering Cutting-Edge Marketing Analytics return to the vital conversation of leveraging big data with Marketing Analytics: Essential Tools for Data-Driven Decisions, which updates and expands on the earlier book as we enter the 2020s. As they illustrate, big data analytics is the engine that drives marketing, providing a forward-looking, predictive perspective for marketing decision-making. The book presents actual cases and data, giving readers invaluable real-world instruction. The cases show how to identify relevant data, choose the best analytics technique, and investigate the link between marketing plans and customer behavior. These actual scenarios shed light on the most pressing marketing questions, such as setting the optimal price for one's product or designing effective digital marketing campaigns. Big data is currently the most powerful resource to the marketing professional, and this book illustrates how to fully harness that power to effectively maximize marketing efforts.
Publication Date: 2021-01-13
Microsoft 365 Portable Genius by Lisa A. BuckiPower up your proficiency with this genius guide to popular Microsoft 365 apps Do you want to make your Microsoft 365 account a productivity behemoth? Do you want to squeeze every last bit of awesome from Word, Excel, and PowerPoint and learn a little more about Outlook, too? Microsoft 365 Portable Genius has got you covered. A seasoned tech expert and trainer, author Lisa A. Bucki shows you how to build Word documents, Excel workbooks, and PowerPoint presentations the right way, as well as how to use high-impact design techniques to make your documents pop. This book answers 11 key questions about how to make the most of Microsoft 365, providing genius tips as it leads you through the essentials. You'll learn how to: Tackle common skills like creating files, adding basic content, navigating in a file, making selections, copying and moving content, and saving files Build a new Word document by using outlining, bullets and numbering, columns, and other features for creating and enhancing content Enhance Excel workbook files by organizing data on different sheets, filling entries, creating range names, and entering powerful, accurate formulas Develop a PowerPoint presentation by choosing the right layout for each slide and adding content to placeholders, and then transform it into an on-screen show with transitions and animations Add punchy design and branding by using text formatting, themes, and graphics in your files Use lists, tables, and charts to make data easier to interpret Create, send, reply to, and organize email in Outlook, as well as add contacts Share file contents on paper or digitally Check out the Online Bonus Appendix at Wiley for more genius coverage of topics including additional Excel formula review techniques, essential Excel functions, theme colors and fonts changes, and WordArt Whether you have used Office in the past or are new to its subscription successor Microsoft 365, Microsoft 365 Portable Genius provides the expert guidance you need to work smarter in Microsoft 365.
Publication Date: 2021-02-03
Money, Banking, and Financial Markets : A Modern Introduction to Macroeconomics by Dale K. Cline;Sandeep MazumderThis innovative text offers an introduction to money, banking, and financial markets, with a special emphasis on the importance of confidence and trust in the macroeconomic system. It also presents the theory of endogenous money creation, in contrast to the standard money multiplier and fractional reserve explanation found in other textbooks. The U.S. economy and financial institutions are used to explain the theoretical and practical framework, with international examples weaved in throughout the text. It covers key topics including monetary policy, fiscal policy, accounting principles, credit creation, central banks, and government treasuries. Additionally, the book considers the international economy, including exchange rates, the Eurozone, Chinese monetary policy, and reserve currencies. Taking a broad look at the financial system, it also looks at banking regulation, cryptocurrencies, real estate, and the oil and gold commodity markets. Students are supported with chapter objectives, key terms, and problems. A test bank is available for instructors. This is an accessible introductory textbook for courses on money and banking, macroeconomics, monetary policy, and financial markets.
Research Anthology on Business Continuity and Navigating Times of Crisis by Information Resources Management Association (Editor)When the COVID-19 pandemic caused a halt in global society, many business leaders found themselves unprepared for the unprecedented change that swept across industry. Whether the need to shift to remote work or the inability to safely conduct business during a global pandemic, many businesses struggled in the transition to the "new normal." In the wake of the pandemic, these struggles have created opportunities to study how businesses navigate these times of crisis. The Research Anthology on Business Continuity and Navigating Times of Crisis discusses the strategies, cases, and research surrounding business continuity throughout crises such as pandemics. This book analyzes business operations and the state of the economy during times of crisis and the leadership involved in recovery. Covering topics such as crisis management, entrepreneurship, and business sustainability, this four-volume comprehensive major reference work is a valuable resource for managers, CEOs, business leaders, entrepreneurs, professors and students of higher education, researchers, and academicians.
Publication Date: 2022-01-07
Strategic Performance Management by Marc HelmoldFierce competition in many industries, megatrends, the COVID-19 pandemic, the ongoing globalisation and the permanent liberalisation of markets have changed the face of economies and businesses drastically. Companies must establish suitable and long-term strategies and performance criteria in order to survive in this dynamic and hostile environment. This book provides a holistic and practical approach to strategic performance management. It combines all functions of the value chain and contains best practices in performance. The author demonstrates how new paradigms enable companies to concentrate on value-adding activities and processes to achieve a long-term sustainable and competitive advantage. The book contains a variety of best practices, industry examples and case studies. Focusing on best-in-class examples, the book offers the ideal guide for any enterprise to achieve a competitive advantage across all business functions focusing on value-adding activities.
Business Searching Interface (BSI) from EBSCO provides a separate interface to browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research. BSI offers all of the content from EBSCO's Business Source Complete database - research tools for business journals and other sources.
This database provides the leading collection of bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It contains information in the most important scholarly business journals, trade publications and top management journals, and non-journal content, including financial data, books, monographs, major references works, case studies, industry & market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
EBSCO eBooks Open Access Collection was created in collaboration with university presses and scholarly OA publishers to provide users with a large selection of discoverable content, which will continue to grow by the thousands. With the collection, libraries gain access to all current and future OA e-books with DRM-free access on the EBSCO platform. (DRM-free eBooks; not strictly OER).
DRM-Free eBooks are eBooks with unlimited access to users and no Digital Rights Management restrictions on printing, saving, copying, etc. Full-book downloads require no sign-in, no Adobe ID, and no special software such as Adobe Digital Editions. The only requirement is that the user authenticates to the institution's collection.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. It contains information from magazine, academic journal, newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images podcasts, and links to Websites.
This database covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
This database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. It is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.
Mergent Online provides comprehensive company data for U.S. and International public and private companies (35,000 public companies and 23 million private companies) , including SEC filings (US only)...
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 45 national (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
SAGE Premier is an invaluable investment for your library. It includes leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Our interdisciplinary coverage is unparalleled, spanning subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more, supporting the needs of varied institutional programs. The one-stop research shop!
"Covers the key disciplines are e-business, general management, international business, strategy, marketing, supply chain management, organization studies, entrepreneurship, enterprise, innovation, and human resource management."
"Provides a forum for the dissemination of theory and research in all areas of business, management, and organizational decisions which would be of interest to academics and practitioners"
The Bryant & Stratton College Virtual Library supports the college mission and curricular needs through acquisition and dissemination of resources in all online media formats and as well as by meeting the critical information needs of its students, faculty, staff, and alumni. In support of the curriculum, the emphasis is on resource and information literacy instruction, digital and Internet access and instruction, and research and writing instruction. The library's purpose is to enable the students to attain the goals outlined in the College Mission Statement.