library: Solon Campus Library Resources: Occupational Therapy Assistant

NoodleTools APA Citation & Note-Taking Editor

Introduction to the Virtual Library

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANT : Featured Database

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.

You’ll find how-to-videos, usage guides, links to on-demand and live virtual training, and much more on the Cochrane Library Training Hub at https://www.wiley.com/en-us/customer-success/cochrane-library-training-hub?utm_medium=email&utm_source=custsvc&utm_campaign=CSHUB&utm_content=SS
Dynamic Health
Dynamic Health is an evidence-based tool designed to help nurses and allied health professionals master skills, obtain fast answers to questions and foster a culture of evidence-based practice and critical thinking leading to improved patient outcomes. Content at a Glance: Diseases & Conditions; Signs & Symptoms; Tests & Labs; Care Interventions; Skills; Drug Guide; Patient Handouts; Leadership Content; Treatment Modalities; Cultural Overviews.
MEDLINE Complete
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. It is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.
Nursing & Allied Health Reference Source
Featured content collections: Evidence Based Care Sheet -- Reviews & Lessons -- Care Plans -- Skills & Practice -- Research Instruments.
Discover content by profession, age group, specialty and more: Nursing -- Nutrition -- Social Work -- Physical & Occupational Therapy -- Respiratory Therapy -- Speech-Language Pathology -- By Age Group -- By Specialty -- By Body System -- Cultural Care -- Common Conditions.

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANT : Selected Library Resources

Selected eBooks

Additional eBooks may be discovered here.

Adult Physical Conditions by Amy J. Mahle; Amber L. Ward; F.A. Davis Company
ISBN: 9781719644358

Publication Date: 2022-03-18
Advanced Statistics for Physical and Occupational Therapy by Thomas Gus Almonroeder
ISBN: 9781032017112

Publication Date: 2022-04-01
Developing Clinical Competence : A Workbook for the OTA, Second Edition by Marie J. Morreale
ISBN: 9781630918965

Publication Date: 2021-10-15
Foundations of Pediatric Practice for the Occupational Therapy Assistant : Second Edition by Amy Wagenfeld; Jennifer Kaldenberg; DeLana Honaker
ISBN: 9781630911249

Publication Date: 2016-09-15
Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy : An Introduction to the Profession by Bernadette Hattjar
ISBN: 9781617115981

Publication Date: 2018-09-14
Introduction to Computers for Health Care Professionals by Irene Makar Joos (Author), Debra M. Wolf (Author), Ramona Nelson (Author)
ISBN: 9781284194708

Publication Date: 2020-01-01
Kinesiology for the Occupational Therapy Assistant : Essential Components of Function and Movement by Susan J. Sain (Author), Carolyn L. Roller (Author), Jeremy L. Keough
ISBN: 9781003524748

Publication Date: 2024
Management and Administration for the OTA : Leadership and Application Skills by Karen Jacobs (Editor)
ISBN: 9781630910655

Publication Date: 2015-07-15
Mental Health Practice for the Occupational Therapy Assistant by Christine A. Manville; Jeremy L. Keough
ISBN: 9781617112508

Publication Date: 2016-01-15
An Occupational Therapist's Role in Health Literacy and Integrated Care by Brittany Ferri
ISBN: 9781536195491

Publication Date: 2021-05-14
An Occupational Therapists Guide to Home Modification Practice, Second Edition by Elizabeth Ainsworth; Desleigh de Jonge
ISBN: 9781630912185

Publication Date: 2018-10-15
Occupational Therapy Assessment for Older Adults : 100 Instruments for Measuring Occupational Performance by Kevin Bortnick
ISBN: 9781630913588

Publication Date: 2016-12-15
Occupational Therapy Essentials for Clinical Competence, Third Edition by Karen Jacobs; Nancy MacRae
ISBN: 9781630912475

Publication Date: 2017-03-15
Occupational Therapy Manual for the Evaluation of Range of Motion and Muscle Strength by Deanna Proulx (Author); Donna Latella (Author)
ISBN: 9781630916732

Publication Date: 2024-09-30
Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process, 4th Edition by American Occupational Therapy Association
ISBN: 9781569004883

Publication Date: 2020-09-01
The OTA's Guide to Documentation : Writing SOAP Notes, Fifth Edition by Marie Morreale
ISBN: 9781638220367

Publication Date: 2022-08-15
Pocket Guide to Intervention in Occupational Therapy, Second Edition by Franklin Stein; Kristine Haertl
ISBN: 9781630915681

Publication Date: 2019-05-15
Preparing for the Occupational Therapy Assistant National Board Exam: 45 Days and Counting by Rosanne DiZazzo-Miller; Fredrick D. Pociask
ISBN: 9781284072358

Publication Date: 2017-09-13
Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy : Seventh Edition by Karen Jacobs (Editor); Laela Simon (Editor)
ISBN: 9781630917623

Publication Date: 2020-04-01
Reflective Writing for Nursing, Health and Social Work by Elizabeth Tanguay; Peter Hanratty; Ben Martin
ISBN: 9781352009965

Publication Date: 2020-04-23

Selected Databases

At times it may be useful to search individual subject databases, as they search a smaller set of resources, reducing the number of irrelevant items that may appear in a broader search and thus helping to identify items relevant to your research project.

Academic Search Premier
This is a multi-disciplinary database. It provides full text for more than 4,600 journals titles. HTML or PDF full text articles are available in this database.
Business Source Complete
This database provides the leading collection of bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It contains information in the most important scholarly business journals, trade publications and top management journals, and non-journal content, including financial data, books, monographs, major references works, case studies, industry & market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.

You’ll find how-to-videos, usage guides, links to on-demand and live virtual training, and much more on the Cochrane Library Training Hub at https://www.wiley.com/en-us/customer-success/cochrane-library-training-hub?utm_medium=email&utm_source=custsvc&utm_campaign=CSHUB&utm_content=SS
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines.
DSM-5 Library
DSM-5 library provides access to:
*DSM-5
*DSM-5-TR
*DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis,
*DSM-5 Clinical Cases,
*Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5,
*DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview
DSM-5 TR
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.
Open Dissertations (EBSCO)
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
Health and Medicine eBook Collection
Health & Medicine eBook Collection offers anytime, anywhere access to more than 18,000 eBooks. The collection supports medical and nursing staff and students in academic institutions, hospitals, and community college medical programs. The collection spans topics from Nursing, Allied Health, Psychology, Diseases, Pharmacology, Anatomy/Physiology to Biology, Chemical Engineering, and much more. Unlimited access, DRM-free chapter downloads, bookshelves and other features on EbookCentral
Health Business Elite
Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
Health Policy Reference Center
Health Policy Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of corporations, medical institutions, government agencies, and other entities relative to health policy.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Legal Collection
This database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
MasterFILE Premier
This is a multidisciplinary database. It provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information. It covers virtually every subject area of general interest.
MEDLINE Complete
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. It is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Sage Premier
SAGE Premier is an invaluable investment for your library. It includes leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Our interdisciplinary coverage is unparalleled, spanning subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more, supporting the needs of varied institutional programs. The one-stop research shop!
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
Visible Body Anatomy & Physiology
This interactive 3D teaching resource is comprised of 50 modules that incorporate 3D models, illustrations, and animations to present core content of basic anatomy and physiology courses.
Vocational & Career Collection
Vocational & Career provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals. It includes career related information in all occupational fields.

Selected eJournals

American Journal of Occupational Therapy
"Focuses on research, practice, and health care issues in the field of occupational therapy." Peer reviewed.
Australian Occupational Therapy Journal
"The official publication of Australian Association of Occupational Therapists. Contains professional and clinical material." Peer reviewed.
British Journal of Occupational Therapy
"Publishes papers relevant to theory, practice, research, education and management in occupational therapy." Peer reviewed.
Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy
"Peer-reviewed coverage of research, theory and practice in occupational therapy." Peer reviewed.
Hong Kong Journal of Occupational Therapy
Subjects: Occupational Therapy. Peer reviewed.
Indian Journal of Physiotherapy & Occupational Therapy
" Covers the philosophical and conceptual foundations of physiotherapy and occupational therapy, evaluation and treatment techniques, new methodologies and practice settings." Peer reviewed.
New Zealand Journal of Occupational Therapy
"National & International articles that are grounded in practice. Practical, hands-on information representing all fields of occupational therapy." Peer reviewed.
Occupational Therapy in Health Care
"Features articles for information sharing among occupational therapists and their assistants in a variety of practice settings."
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health
Subjects: Psychology; Occupational Therapy
Occupational Therapy International
"Publishes papers on clinical research, current practices, technology, professional issues, education, trends in health care, industrial health and other areas of interest to the growing number of occupational therapists throughoutthe world." Peer reviewed.
Open Journal of Occupational Therapy (OJOT)
"Presenting articles that focus on applied research, practice, and education in the occupational therapy profession." Peer reviewed.
Physical & Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics
"Articles on clinical research and therapeutic practice in geriatrics, current practice and emerging issues in the health care of the older client." Peer reviewed>
Physical & occupational therapy in pediatrics
MeSH Subjects: Child; Infant; Occupational Therapy; Physical Therapy Modalities
South African Journal of Occupational Therapy
"Publishes scientific and clinical articles on topics related to occupational therapy." Peer reviewed.

OTA Digital Reserve Shelf

eBOOK FROM THE CATALOG

Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process, 4th Edition by American Occupational Therapy Association
ISBN: 9781569004883

Publication Date: 2020-09-01

LINK GROUP

Standards of Practice for Occupational Therapy (WEB)
The American Journal of Occupational Therapy, 2021, Vol. 75(Supplement_3), 7513410030.
https://doi.org/10.5014/ajot.2021.75S3004
AOTA 2020 Occupational Therapy Code of Ethics (WEB)
The American Journal of Occupational Therapy, 2020, Vol. 74(Supplement_3), 7413410005p1–7413410005p13.
https://doi.org/10.5014/ajot.2020.74S3006
Enforcement Procedures for the Occupational Therapy Code of Ethics and Ethics Standards.
American Journal of Occupational Therapy,Nov/Dec2014 Supplment,Supplemental Index
Guidelines for supervision, roles, and responsibilities during the delivery of occupational therapy services (CINAHL Complete)
American Journal of Occupational Therapy (AM J OCCUP THER), 2020 Supplement; 74(Sup3): 1-6. (6p)
Occupational Therapy Scope of Practice (WEB)
The American Journal of Occupational Therapy, 2021, Vol. 75(Supplement_3), 7513410020.
https://doi.org/10.5014/ajot.2021.75S3005
OTL&LS - History Preservation Project (WEB)
CONTENT: Historical Works -- Oral History Project-- Web-based Historical Resources -- Digital Archives -- AOTA Centennial Website.
OTL&LS - Web-based Historical Resources (WEB)
"This section contains links to resources that have been developed by State Occupational Therapy Associations, Universities with occupational therapy programs, and organizations that provide historical information related to occupational therapy, our professions leaders, and the persons with whom we work."
Vision 2025. (PEER REVIEWED ARTICLE)
American Journal of Occupational Therapy,May/Jun2017,Supplemental Index

FILE GROUP

A Framework for Ethical Decision Making (PDF)
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics

DSM-5

DSM-5 Library
DSM-5 library provides access to:
*DSM-5
*DSM-5-TR
*DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis,
*DSM-5 Clinical Cases,
*Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5,
*DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview
DSM-5 TR
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.

Info-graphic Tools

Canva | Free infographic maker (WEB)
"Simply choose an infographic template, add your information and there you have it: A stunning custom infographic."
How to Create an Infographic in Under an Hour [+ Free Templates] (WEB)
"With HubSpot’s Free Infographic Templates in PowerPoint, you can create high-quality, professional infographics in under an hour."

Research Guides by Course

Cultural Competence Research Guide (LIBRARY GUIDE)
CONTENT : eBook (Cultural Sensibility in Healthcare) -- Readings (Virtual Library) -- Web Readings.
OT230 Research Guide: Developmental Disability User Guide Assignment:(LIBRARY GUIDE)
CONTENT : Peer-Reviewed Research Sources -- Typical Development -- NIH Genetic Health Conditions search -- CDC Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities -- APA Lab.
OTAP 101 - Supplemental Readings (LIBRARY GUIDE)
CONTENT : OTAP 101 - Supplemental Readings.
OTAP 102 Case Study Research Guide (LIBRARY GUIDE)
CONTENT : Digital Reserves -- Hip Replacement -- CVA -- Dementia -- Humeral Fractures -- OT & Aging -- Parkinson’s -- Amputees -- DM Type I.
Psychosocial Research Guide (LIBRARY GUIDE)
CONTENT : AOTA Fact Sheets -- Readings (Virtual Library) -- E-Book (Virtual Library) -- Web Resources.

ICE Learning Center

ICE Learning Center Login (enter B&SC email address)
Available to Bryant & Stratton PTA or OTA students in Greece, Parma, Solon, Southtowns, Syracuse, and Wauwatosa.
This collection includes over 175 video clips, and is designed specifically for physical and occupational therapy. Videos cover a wide range of diagnoses and treatment settings. Log in via the B&SC icon toward the bottom of the page.Do not input email at the top of the page.

Professional Associations

American Occupational Therapy Association
The American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) is the national professional association established in 1917 to represent the interests and concerns of occupational therapy practitioners and students of occupational therapy and to improve the quality of occupational therapy services. - See more at: http://www.aota.org/AboutAOTA.asp
The American Occupational Therapy Foundation
Founded in 1965, the AOTF serves the public interest by supporting occupational therapy research and increasing public understanding of the important relationship between everyday activities (occupations) and health. It accomplishes its aims primarily through grants and scholarships, through programs, and through publications.
National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT)
NBCOT works to strengthen the occupational therapy profession by providing certifications and educational resources for students, practitioners and employers.
Ohio Occupational Therapy Association
"The Ohio Occupational Therapy Association (OOTA) serves both our members and consumers by promoting occupational therapy and by addressing professional issues that impact the education and practice of occupational therapists in the state of Ohio."

Wiley Cochrane Library

Wiley Cochrane Library
"The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases."
Cochrane Library Training Hub
Looking for help with Cochrane Library? You’re in the right place! Browse our webinars, user guides and short training videos to find the resource you need to get the most out of your Cochrane Library subscription.

Mission Statement

The Bryant & Stratton College Virtual Library supports the college mission and curricular needs through acquisition and dissemination of resources in all online media formats and as well as by meeting the critical information needs of its students, faculty, staff, and alumni. In support of the curriculum, the emphasis is on resource and information literacy instruction, digital and Internet access and instruction, and research and writing instruction. The library's purpose is to enable the students to attain the goals outlined in the College Mission Statement.

Solon Campus Library Resources

Quick Links

Search the BSC Virtual Library