library: Solon Campus Library Resources: Virtual Reserve Shelf

Search eBook Databases

VIRTUAL RESERVE SHELF : Resources

Files

** Giving Credit to Sources (PPT)
This presentation introduces students to the beginning steps of documenting research sources.
** Introduction to Searching the Virtual Library (PPT)
Demonstrates the steps to search for library items from the main search interface.
BSC Official Course Catalog (PDF)
Official course catalog for the BSC system.
Copyright Guide for Students | OSU Libraries (PDF)
CONTENT: Copyright Basics -- Your Rights As a Creator -- Using Copyrighted Works -- Student Publication -- Fair Use.
How to Access Reference USA (Data Axle)(PPT)
Demonstrates how to access and search Reference USA (Data Axle).
Noodle Tools Login - January 2022 (PDF)
Starting January 2022 students and instructors will log in to NoodleTools with Microsoft 365 login credentials.

Databases

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Britannica Academic combines Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.
DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window
DSM-5 library provides access to:
*DSM-5
*DSM-5-TR
*DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis,
*DSM-5 Clinical Cases,
*Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5,
*DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview
EBSCOhost Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Points of View provides information for many current hottest social topics, such as earth & environment, global issues, energy & conservation. This database also contains a research guide to help students learn how to choose a research topic, how to create an essay outline, how to write a thesis statement, how to write a persuasive essay and how to cite sources.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. It contains information from magazine, academic journal, newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images podcasts, and links to Websites.

Library Guides

Database Search Tips (LIBRARY GUIDE)
CONTENT: Search Strategy -- Keyword Tips -- Boolean Operators -- Subject Searching -- Field Searching -- Using Limiters -- Search Results Tips -- Evaluating Websites -- Reading Strategically.
Evaluating Resources (LIBRARY GUIDE)
CONTENT: Authority -- Purpose -- Publication & format -- Relevance -- Date of publication -- Documentation -- Searching tips.
ACCUPLACER Study Resources (LIBRARY GUIDE)
CONTENT : ACCUPLACER Practice Questions (Printable) -- ACCUPLATER Practice App -- Flashcards for the ACCUPLACER test.

Plagiarism Checker by Grammarly
"Catch plagiarism from ProQuest databases and billions of web pages. Our free plagiarism check will tell you whether or not your text contains duplicate content. Our Premium plagiarism check highlights passages that require citations and gives you the resources you need to properly credit your sources."

What Are Primary Sources?

"Primary sources are documents, images or artifacts that provide firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an historical topic under research investigation. Primary sources are original documents created or experienced contemporaneously with the event being researched. Primary sources enable researchers to get as close as possible to what actually happened during an historical event or time period."--UCI Libraries.

Primary Sources Guide

Mini Collections

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging Guide
This guide provides information and resources for the college's diversity, Sensitivity, and inclusion celebrations.
Mini Collection : Black History Month Collection [FEBRUARY] (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This mini collection contains selected eBooks, reference works, online exhibits, and videos relating to specific aspects of black history, and is organized to facilitate discovery and discussion during Black History Month.
Mini Collection : Women's History Month [MARCH] (LIBRARY GUIDE0
This mini collection contains eBook titles drawn from the Virtual Library and links to online exhibits and TED Talks, organized for study, reflection, and discussion during the month of March.
Mini Collection: Financial Literacy [APRIL] (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This mini collection contains selected eBooks arranged for study and discussion during Financial Literacy Month (April).
Mini Collection : National Deaf History Month [April] (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This mini collection contains selected eBooks relating to specific aspects of deaf history and is organized to facilitate discovery and discussion during National Deaf History Month.
Mini Collection : Occupational Therapy Month [APRIL] (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This collection draws together selected titles in occupational therapy for study and discussion during Occupational Therapy Month.
Mini Collection: World Heritage Month (April)
This guide includes eBook titles from the Virtual Library's collection and selected websites arranged for study and discussion during World Heritage Month.
Mini Collection : Military Appreciation Month [MAY] (LIBRARY GUIDE0
This collection includes library materials selected and arranged for discovery and discussion during Military Appreciation Month.
Mini Collection : Asian American & Pacific Islander Heritage Month [May] (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This mini collection contains titles selected for study and discussion during Asian American & Pacific Islander Heritage Month.
Mini Collection : Cinco de Mayo [May] (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This mini collection contains selected materials arranged for study and discussion about the Cinco de Mayo holiday.
Mini Collections : Mental Health Awareness Month [May] (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This collection includes titles from the Virtual Library's collection arranged for study and discussion during Mental Health Awareness Month.
Mini Collection : Latino Books Month [MAY] (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This mini collection contains library materials arranged for study and discussion during Latino Books Month.
Mini Collection : Caribbean American Heritage Month (June) (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This guide contains a variety of materials arranged for study and discussion during Caribbean American Heritage Month.
Mini Collection : LGBTQ+ Pride Month (JUNE) (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This guide includes a variety of materials organized for study and discussion during LGBTQ+ Pride Month.
Mini Collection : Juneteenth [June 19th] (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This collection contains a variety of materials organized for study and discussion during the observation on the Juneteenth holiday.
Mini Collection : Americans with Disabilities Act Day (July 26) (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This mini collection includes selected materials from the library's collection and selected TED Talks arranged for study and discussion in recognition of Americans with Disabilities Act Day, July 26.
Mini Collection : International Day of the World's Indigenous People (9 August) (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This guide includes library materials organized for study and discussion in observance of International Day of the World's Indigenous People (9 August).
Mini Collection : Women's Equality Day (August 26)
This collection includes titles from the Virtual Library's collection and selected videos arranged for study and discussion during the observance of Women's Equality Day (August 26).
Mini Collection : Celebrating the U. S. Constitution [SEPTEMBER] (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This collection contains videos, eBooks, primary source documents, and selected websites for the study of the U.S Constitution, its history, interpretation, and its effect on the U.S legal system.
Mini Collection : Hispanic Heritage Month (September) (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This guide contains links to library materials arranged for study and discussion during Hispanic Heritage Month.
Mini Collection : National IT Professional Day (3rd Tuesday of September)
This guide details e-books and other materials that are useful for the celebrations of National IT Professional Day.
Mini Collection : DSI October Observances (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This guide contains library items arranged for study and discussion in line with the DSI observances for the month of October.
Medical Assistant Recognition Week (OCTOBER)
This mini collection contains selected library eBooks, TED Talks, and web links, and is organized to facilitate discovery and discussion during Medical Assistant Recognition Week.
Mini Collection : German-American Heritage Month (October) (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This guide includes selected library materials arranged for study and discussion during German-American Heritage Month.
Mini Collection : Native American Heritage Month (November) (LIBRARY GUIDE)
This mini collection contains a variety of materials relating to specific aspects of Native American history, and is organized to facilitate study and discussion during Native American Heritage Month.
Mini Collection: Ukraine (LIBRARY GUIDE)
In light of recent international events, this mini collection is assembled with the goal of introducing the social, political, and economic context that has shaped Ukraine, and to facilitate study and discussion as the situation develops.

Video

Websites

Free TEAS Practice Tests (WEB)
CONTENT: TEAS Practice Test -- TEAS Test Prep -- More TEAS Test Practice -- Overview of the Exam -- About TEAS Questions -- Practicing for the TEAS -- Benefits of Using a TEAS Practice Test -- Frequently Asked Questions.
Free Test Prep for the TEAS (WEB)
"Our Lessons, Practice Tests, Flashcards, and Study Guides will help you Pass the TEAS for FREE."
Library of Congress Classification Outline (WEB)
"Listed...are the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress Classification. Click on any class to view an outline of its subclasses."
Occupational Outlook Handbook (WEB)
A guide to career information about hundreds of occupations.
Online Typing Tutor (WEB)
Learn touch typing fast using these free typing lessons.
Open Library | Internet Archive (WEB)
"Read free library books online. Millions of books available through Controlled Digital Lending."
Plagiarism: What It is and How to Recognize and Avoid It (WEB)
"In college courses, we are continually engaged with other people’s ideas: we read them in texts, hear them in lecture, discuss them in class, and incorporate them into our own writing. As a result, it is very important that we give credit where it is due. Plagiarism is using others’ ideas and words without clearly acknowledging the source of that information."

Mission Statement

The Bryant & Stratton College Virtual Library supports the college mission and curricular needs through acquisition and dissemination of resources in all online media formats and as well as by meeting the critical information needs of its students, faculty, staff, and alumni. In support of the curriculum, the emphasis is on resource and information literacy instruction, digital and Internet access and instruction, and research and writing instruction. The library's purpose is to enable the students to attain the goals outlined in the College Mission Statement.

Solon Campus Library Resources

Quick Links

Search the BSC Virtual Library