33 Simple Strategies for Faculty : A Week-By-Week Resource for Teaching First-Year and First-Generation Students by Lisa M. NunnWinner of the 2020 Scholarly Contributions to Teaching and Learning Award from the American Sociological Association Many students struggle with the transition from high school to university life. This is especially true of first-generation college students, who are often unfamiliar with the norms and expectations of academia. College professors usually want to help, but many feel overwhelmed by the prospect of making extra time in their already hectic schedules to meet with these struggling students. 33 Simple Strategies for Faculty is a guidebook filled with practical solutions to this problem. It gives college faculty concrete exercises and tools they can use both inside and outside of the classroom to effectively bolster the academic success and wellbeing of their students. To devise these strategies, educational sociologist Lisa M. Nunn talked with a variety of first-year college students, learning what they find baffling and frustrating about their classes, as well as what they love about their professors' teaching. Combining student perspectives with the latest research on bridging the academic achievement gap, she shows how professors can make a difference by spending as little as fifteen minutes a week helping their students acculturate to college life. Whether you are a new faculty member or a tenured professor, you are sure to find 33 Simple Strategies for Faculty to be an invaluable resource.
Publication Date: 2018-10-12
The Adjunct Faculty Handbook by Lorri E. Cooper (Editor); Bryan A. Booth (Editor)Praise for the First Edition "The book is very comprehensive. It gives plenty of practical examples and also refers to teaching and learning theory."--Martin Lightfoot in Management & Education "This Handbook contains advice and approaches for teaching practices that both new and seasoned faculty can employ to revisit and revitalize what goes on in their classrooms."--Margaret E. Holt, University of Georgia Since the First Edition of The Adjunct Faculty Handbook was published in 1996, the number of adjunct faculty members in colleges and universities has increased to the point that most of those institutions could not function efficiently without them. This Second Edition addresses changes in today′s higher education environment and their impact on the role of adjunct instructors. At a time when many adjuncts may be given little more than a start date, room number, and brief course description to prepare them for teaching a course, the Handbook provides administrators as well as part- and full-time faculty members with the resources they need to empower adjunct staff. Key Features Provides important tools for adjunct instructors, including handy checklists, sample syllabi, evaluation forms, and case studies Offers a full chapter on the role of technology in teaching and learning, plus another on future trends, including network technologies Covers the increased emphasis on student evaluations and learning outcomes assessment as well as changes in classroom dynamics and what these mean for today′s adjunct faculty Addresses both theory and skill, covering topics such as course planning, teaching strategies, theories of learning, cooperative learning, student evaluations, Web 2.0, professional development, and more Includes practical advice for designing policies for adjunct programs and for evaluating adjunct instructors, who comprise more than two-thirds of the college instructors in the United States today
Publication Date: 2010-05-26
College Teaching at Its Best : Inspiring Students to Be Enthusiastic, Lifelong Learners by Chris PalmerThis book is a practical guide for professors who are interested in being more effective teachers. It encompasses all the things a professor must do to prepare to teach; to stimulate learning and love of learning; to understand and engage all students; and to help them find direction, purpose, and mission in their lives. The book recognizes the importance of instructors, and how the best teachers focus on inspiring lifelong learning, both in themselves and in their students. Good teaching is rooted in good values, not the mastery of content alone. Caring, empathy, and compassion are important. The highest value of a teacher may often lie in the mentorship she can provide to her students. Discover how to convey passion and enthusiasm to students, and how to motivate your students to want to learn and participate. The book describes active learning approaches and how to make lectures more effective. It also recognizes the moral responsibility professors have to help the less talkative members of their class. The book deals with how to overcome the challenges of fostering learning in large classes where it is almost impossible for the instructor to get to know all the students. How to keep students alert and energized by adding variety to your classes through games, role-playing, humor, guest speakers, field trips, videos, and other devices. How to maintain enthusiasm and compassion all semester, and keep fatigue and negative thoughts at bay. How to handle email and office hours, how to provide feedback on work, and how to consider the whole student as you evaluate performance and foster success. This book is a useful guide as you chart your course through the challenges and rewards of college teaching.
Publication Date: 2019-05-10
Combating Plagiarism: A Hands-On Guide for Librarians, Teachers, and Students by Terry DarrOffers an instructional plan for plagiarism education for middle school and high school students, allowing librarians to become a resource for students, teachers, and school administrators. The proliferation of resources now available through libraries and the internet requires a new set of information management skills in order for students to avoid plagiarism. While educators legitimately expect students to approach academic work with honesty and integrity, students need to be able to understand the context of their academic resources--both print and digital--well enough to use them appropriately and ethically. Combating Plagiarism helps middle and high school teachers and librarians understand and teach the authorship and publication process so students learn to use relevant information in an ethically and academically sound fashion. Terry Darr's long-term collaboration with a high school history teacher taught her the challenges faced by students conducting research--and by librarians and teachers tasked with teaching plagiarism prevention. Her book is full of tested concepts for teaching these complex topics, emphasizing our modern reliance on digital sources. An extensive student reference section covers common knowledge, fact, and opinion. A wealth of practical resources includes real-life examples from research papers as well as plenty of instructional materials, exercises, and lesson plans. Helps librarians to feel confident in their professional positions as plagiarism experts on campus Teaches librarians how to help students who have already plagiarized Provides opportunities for librarians to collaborate with teachers and writing centers through plagiarism education Acts as a reference guide with all types of questions to ask students about plagiarism during the research process Creates an important framework for the ethical and appropriate use of information in schools
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators : Creative Strategies and Practical Solutions by Kenneth D. CrewsCopyright law never sleeps, making it imperative to keep abreast of the latest developments. Declared "an exemplary text that seals the standards for such books" (Managing Information), this newly revised and updated edition by respected copyright authority Crews offers timely insights and succinct guidance for LIS students, librarians, and educators alike. Readers will learn basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services; find information quickly with "key points" sidebars, legislative citations, and cross-references; get up to speed on fresh developments, such as how the recently signed Marrakesh Treaty expands access for people with disabilities and why the latest ruling in the Georgia State University case makes developing a fair use policy so important; understand the concept of fair use, with fresh interpretations of its many gray areas that will aid decision making; learn the current state of affairs regarding mass digitization, Creative Commons, classroom use and distance education, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, and other important topics; receive guidance on setting up on a copyright service at a library, college, or university; and find many helpful checklists for navigating copyright in various situations. This straightforward, easy-to-use guide provides the tools librarians and educators need to take control of their rights and responsibilities as copyright owners and users.
Publication Date: 2020-02-21
Essentials for Blended Learning, 2nd Edition : A Standards-Based Guide by Jared Stein; Charles R. GrahamEssentials for Blended Learning provides a practical, streamlined approach for creating effective learning experiences by blending online activities and the best of face-to-face teaching. Effective blended learning requires rethinking of teaching practices and a redesign of course structure. Suitable for instructors in any content area, this book simplifies these difficult challenges without neglecting important opportunities to transform teaching. The revised second edition is more streamlined and easier to user, and includes more real-world examples of blended teaching and learning, the latest technologies, and additional research-based learning activities.
Publication Date: 2020-04-21
Fieldwork Educator's Guide to Level I Fieldwork by Debra Hanson; Elizabeth D. DeIuliis (Editor)A new resource for occupational therapy academic fieldwork coordinators and fieldwork educators, Fieldwork Educator's Guide to Level I Fieldwork is a practical guide for faculty and clinicians to design and implement Level I fieldwork experiences for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant students. Fieldwork Educator's Guide to Level I Fieldwork was designed to address the challenges of integrating Level I fieldwork with classroom learning experiences. Expansive and versatile, the book meets the recently expanded definition of Level I fieldwork according to the 2018 Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education standards, including faculty-led experiences, standardized patients, simulation, and supervision by a fieldwork educator in a practice environment. Each unit of the text builds upon the previous unit. The first unit provides fundamental knowledge on experiential learning and includes an orientation to the purpose of Level I fieldwork in occupational therapy. Building on this foundation, the second unit equips the reader with resources to develop a Level I fieldwork learning plan suitable for their setting. The final units focus on situational scenarios that emerge during Level I fieldwork placements and provides a framework for assessing student learning during Level I fieldwork. While each chapter is designed to build upon one another, they also can be used as stand-alone resources depending on the needs of the reader. What is included in Fieldwork Educator's Guide to Level I Fieldwork: Up-to-date terminology Experiential learning frameworks and models in diverse contexts, including role emerging and simulation Strategies for addressing anxiety and student stress management and supporting students with disabilities Models to support clinical reasoning development during Level I fieldwork Mechanisms to foster student professional development and communication skills Be sure to also look into the successive textbook, Fieldwork Educator's Guide to Level II Fieldwork, which was designed in-tandem with this book to be a progressive resource that exclusively focuses on Level II fieldwork.
Publication Date: 2022-12-30
Fieldwork Educator's Guide to Level II Fieldwork by Elizabeth DeIuliis; Debra HansonA new, comprehensive resource for fieldwork educators and academic fieldwork coordinators, Fieldwork Educator's Guide to Level II Fieldwork provides a blueprint for designing, implementing, and managing Level II fieldwork programs for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant students across practice settings. Drawing from the expertise of renowned individuals in the field, Drs. Elizabeth D. DeIuliis and Debra Hanson provide the tools for fieldwork educators and academic fieldwork coordinators to put together learning frameworks, educational theories, and clinical instructional techniques within and outside occupational therapy in order to create and maintain high-quality Level II learning experiences. Fieldwork Educator's Guide to Level II Fieldwork challenges fieldwork educators and academic fieldwork coordinators to shift their mindset to facilitating skill acquisition and to adjust their teaching approach to match the learning needs and developmental level of the student. Designed to meet the definition of Level II fieldwork according to the 2018 Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education standards, and in response to common pitfalls and challenges in clinical education today, Fieldwork Educator's Guide to Level II Fieldwork is the go-to guide for the busy practitioner and academic fieldwork coordinator. What is included in Fieldwork Educator's Guide to Level II Fieldwork: Expansive overviews of supervision models and vignettes illustrating use across practice settings Examples and templates to construct a learning plan, site-specific learning objectives, orientation, weekly schedules, and learning contracts Tools and strategies to uniquely develop and foster clinical reasoning in fieldwork Models for dually approaching supervision and mentorship Strategies for addressing unique student learning and supervision needs Fieldwork Educator's Guide to Level II Fieldwork can be used as a standalone resource or as a complement to Fieldwork Educator'sGuide to Level I Fieldwork, which was designed in-tandem with this text to holistically address Levels I and II fieldwork education
Publication Date: 2022-12-30
Flipped Classrooms with Diverse Learners : International Perspectives by Zachary Walker (Editor); Desiree Tan (Editor); Noi Keng Koh (Editor)This book addresses the background of classroom flipping, explores the theoretical underpinnings for why flipping works, and shares current success stories in practice. It provides diverse international examples of classroom flipping for all ages, includes discussions of the authors' studies in the context of the existing research, and illustrates the impact that classroom flipping has had across a range of educational settings instead of focusing on a specific domain or learner context. Intended as a handbook for practitioners, the analysis of commonly used, highly effective techniques for learners of various ages fills a major gap in the literature. It offers a valuable resource for educators, helping them make the flipped learning experience an impactful and meaningful one.
Publication Date: 2020-06-30
It's a Matter of Fact : Teaching Students Research Skills in Today's Information-Packed World by Angie MillerIn this new book from Routledge and MiddleWeb, author Angie Miller shows how you can turn your students into informed citizens by teaching them how to research effectively. In today's information-saturated world research skills have moved beyond fact-finding, into fact-sifting, fact-sorting, and fact-assessing. Miller shows you how to help students check sources, take good notes, make use of information, and synthesize and present information across the subject areas. She also shows how to make research a daily practice, not a one-time essay or project. With examples and online handouts you can use immediately, this practical book is a valuable resource for educators seeking to engage students in their work and encourage them toward higher level thinking.
Publication Date: 2018-03-05
Learning Online : The Student Experience by George VeletsianosWhat's it really like to learn online?Learning Online: The Student Experience Online learning is ubiquitous for millions of students worldwide, yet our understanding of student experiences in online learning settings is limited. The geographic distance that separates faculty from students in an online environment is its signature feature, but it is also one that risks widening the gulf between teachers and learners. In Learning Online, George Veletsianos argues that in order to critique, understand, and improve online learning, we must examine it through the lens of student experience. Approaching the topic with stories that elicit empathy, compassion, and care, Veletsianos relays the diverse day-to-day experiences of online learners. Each in-depth chapter follows a single learner's experience while focusing on an important or noteworthy aspect of online learning, tackling everything from demographics, attrition, motivation, and loneliness to cheating, openness, flexibility, social media, and digital divides. Veletsianos also draws on these case studies to offer recommendations for the future and lessons learned. The elusive nature of online learners' experiences, the book reveals, is a problem because it prevents us from doing better: from designing more effective online courses, from making evidence-informed decisions about online education, and from coming to our work with the full sense of empathy that our students deserve. Writing in an evocative, accessible, and concise manner, Veletsianos concretely demonstrates why it is so important to pay closer attention to the stories of students--who may have instructive and insightful ideas about the future of education.
Publication Date: 2020-05-19
Microsoft 365 Portable Genius by Lisa A. BuckiPower up your proficiency with this genius guide to popular Microsoft 365 apps Do you want to make your Microsoft 365 account a productivity behemoth? Do you want to squeeze every last bit of awesome from Word, Excel, and PowerPoint and learn a little more about Outlook, too? Microsoft 365 Portable Genius has got you covered. A seasoned tech expert and trainer, author Lisa A. Bucki shows you how to build Word documents, Excel workbooks, and PowerPoint presentations the right way, as well as how to use high-impact design techniques to make your documents pop. This book answers 11 key questions about how to make the most of Microsoft 365, providing genius tips as it leads you through the essentials. You'll learn how to: Tackle common skills like creating files, adding basic content, navigating in a file, making selections, copying and moving content, and saving files Build a new Word document by using outlining, bullets and numbering, columns, and other features for creating and enhancing content Enhance Excel workbook files by organizing data on different sheets, filling entries, creating range names, and entering powerful, accurate formulas Develop a PowerPoint presentation by choosing the right layout for each slide and adding content to placeholders, and then transform it into an on-screen show with transitions and animations Add punchy design and branding by using text formatting, themes, and graphics in your files Use lists, tables, and charts to make data easier to interpret Create, send, reply to, and organize email in Outlook, as well as add contacts Share file contents on paper or digitally Check out the Online Bonus Appendix at Wiley for more genius coverage of topics including additional Excel formula review techniques, essential Excel functions, theme colors and fonts changes, and WordArt Whether you have used Office in the past or are new to its subscription successor Microsoft 365, Microsoft 365 Portable Genius provides the expert guidance you need to work smarter in Microsoft 365.
Publication Date: 2021-02-03
Specifications Grading : Restoring Rigor, Motivating Students, and Saving Faculty Time by Linda B. Nilson; Claudia J. StannyIn her latest book Linda Nilson puts forward an innovative but practical and tested approach to grading that can demonstrably raise academic standards, motivate students, tie their achievement of learning outcomes to their course grades, save faculty time and stress, and provide the reliable gauge of student learning that the public and employers are looking for. She argues that the grading system most commonly in use now is unwieldy, imprecise and unnecessarily complex, involving too many rating levels for too many individual assignments and tests, and based on a hairsplitting point structure that obscures the underlying criteria and encourages students to challenge their grades. This new specifications grading paradigm restructures assessments to streamline the grading process and greatly reduce grading time, empower students to choose the level of attainment they want to achieve, reduce antagonism between the evaluator and the evaluated, and increase student receptivity to meaningful feedback, thus facilitating the learning process - all while upholding rigor. In addition, specs grading increases students' motivation to do well by making expectations clear, lowering their stress and giving them agency in determining their course goals. Among the unique characteristics of the schema, all of which simplify faculty decision making, are the elimination of partial credit, the reliance on a one-level grading rubric and the "bundling" of assignments and tests around learning outcomes. Successfully completing more challenging bundles (or modules) earns a student a higher course grade. Specs grading works equally well in small and large class settings and encourages "authentic assessment." Used consistently over time, it can restore credibility to grades by demonstrating and making transparent to all stakeholders the learning outcomes that students achieve. This book features many examples of courses that faculty have adapted to spec grading and lays out the surprisingly simple transition process. It is intended for all members of higher education who teach, whatever the discipline and regardless of rank, as well as those who oversee, train, and advise those who teach. Specification grading promotes the following values and outcomes. It: 1. Upholds High Academic Standards 2. Reflects Student Attainment of Skills and Knowledge 3. Motivates Students to Learn and to Excel 4. Fosters Higher-Order Cognitive Development and Creativity 5. Discourages Cheating 6. Reduces Student Stress 7. Makes Students Feel Responsible for Their Grades 8. Minimizes Conflict Between Faculty and Students 9. Saves Faculty Time and Is Simple to Administer 10. Makes Expectations Clear and Simplifies Feedback for Improvement 11. Assesses Authentically 12. Achieves High Inter-Rater Agreement
Publication Date: 2014-10-22
Syllabus : The Remarkable, Unremarkable Document That Changes Everything by William Germano; Kit NichollsHow redesigning your syllabus can transform your teaching, your classroom, and the way your students learn Generations of teachers have built their classes around the course syllabus, a semester-long contract that spells out what each class meeting will focus on (readings, problem sets, case studies, experiments), and what the student has to turn in by a given date. But what does that way of thinking about the syllabus leave out--about our teaching and, more importantly, about our students' learning? In Syllabus, William Germano and Kit Nicholls take a fresh look at this essential but almost invisible bureaucratic document and use it as a starting point for rethinking what students--and teachers--do. What if a teacher built a semester's worth of teaching and learning backward--starting from what students need to learn to do by the end of the term, and only then selecting and arranging the material students need to study? Thinking through the lived moments of classroom engagement--what the authors call "coursetime"--becomes a way of striking a balance between improv and order. With fresh insights and concrete suggestions, Syllabus shifts the focus away from the teacher to the work and growth of students, moving the classroom closer to the genuinely collaborative learning community we all want to create.
Publication Date: 2020-10-20
Teaching Plagiarism Prevention to College Students : An Ethics-Based Approach by Connie Strittmatter; Virginia K. BrattonTeaching Plagiarism Prevention to College Students: An Ethics-Based Approach provides an innovative approach to plagiarism instruction by grounding it in ethics theory. By providing an ethics foundation to plagiarism instruction, this book helps the plagiarism instructor to address both unintentional and intentional plagiarism behaviors among students. This book provides tools to address why plagiarism is an important ethical issue in an academic environment. This book introduces general principles of ethics adaptable to library instruction of plagiarism in a variety of learning settings. It guides an instructor through curriculum pedagogical design drawing on library and ethics training literatures. It provides examples of materials to support the implementation of an ethical approach to plagiarism instruction. Finally, it outlines a detailed approach to assessment in order to measure changes in student reactions, learning, and behaviors as a result of this instruction. It further provides guidance in how to communicate institutional outcomes to key decision-makers.
This presentation demonstrates how to navigate Faculty Select to adopt Open Educational Resources (OERs) and request DMR-free eBooks for classroom use. To access: ARR->Training and Libraries->Content->Faculty Select
CONTENT: Benefits of Using OER -- What is DRM (Digital Rights Management) Free? -- Creative Commons Licenses -- Current OER Databases in the Virtual Library -- eBook Open Access (QA) Collection -- EBSCO Open Dissertations -- Faculty Select -- Open Stax -- OpenCon Ohio 2023 Virtual Conterence.
"The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. Unlike other OER discovery sites (e.g, OER Commons, OASIS, MERLOT, OpenStax, etc.) with our Metafinder you aren’t searching a static database that we’ve built. Instead, the OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button."
The article presents a study which examined the extent of differences in pre-college characteristics and academic performance between African American male student-athletes and their student-athlete peers.
Written by a team of authors with first-hand experience working with student athletes and transitional programs, the volume argues that institutional attention must be directed at caring for the personal and intellectual growth of student athletes.
It is well documented that student-athletes underperform academically. Some researchers have suggested that this underperformance is because student-athletes lack motivation in academic endeavors. In contrast, we find that most student-athletes hold positive private attitudes towards academic achievement, but also believe that their peers do not.
This chapter focuses on how student services support community college student athletes. Included are policy recommendations to help institutions develop programs to facilitate community college student athletes' current and future academic success.
Summary: "A resource of educational web tools and mobile apps for teachers and educators."-ETML homepage. Contents: Home -- All categories -- All resources -- Posters -- iPad resources -- Teacher guides -- YouTube 4 teachers -- Teacher tools -- Free downloads -- Advertise.
On TED.com, we're building a clearinghouse of free knowledge from the world's most inspired thinkers — and a community of curious souls to engage with ideas and each other, both online and at TED and TEDx events around the world, all year long.
Contents: Home -- Magazine -- News -- Topic channels -- Web seminars -- Educomm -- Jobs -- Resources -- Downloads -- Web exclusives -- About us.
The Bryant & Stratton College Virtual Library supports the college mission and curricular needs through acquisition and dissemination of resources in all online media formats and as well as by meeting the critical information needs of its students, faculty, staff, and alumni. In support of the curriculum, the emphasis is on resource and information literacy instruction, digital and Internet access and instruction, and research and writing instruction. The library's purpose is to enable the students to attain the goals outlined in the College Mission Statement.